Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Impulse» Forums » Rules

Subject: Sabotage question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Davide Banchini
Italy
Faenza
Ravenna
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
From rules, page 37:

"...You can only Sabotage ships on cards that you patrol with Cruisers or occupy with Transports."

Ok for transports, but how can you have Cruisers of different factions on the same card? Shouldnt they start a battle and after that, only cruisers of one faction survive?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Rupp
United States
Marion
Iowa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RolloTommasi wrote:
From rules, page 37:

"...You can only Sabotage ships on cards that you patrol with Cruisers or occupy with Transports."

Ok for transports, but how can you have Cruisers of different factions on the same card? Shouldnt they start a battle and after that, only cruisers of one faction survive?


You only start a battle if you move THROUGH a card with cruisers. You can still have multiple cruisers on the same card (along the edges).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean Tompkins
United States
San Antonio
Texas
flag msg tools
Never go in against a Sicilian when DEATH is on the line!
badge
You know what would be funny...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rrrrupp wrote:
RolloTommasi wrote:
From rules, page 37:

"...You can only Sabotage ships on cards that you patrol with Cruisers or occupy with Transports."

Ok for transports, but how can you have Cruisers of different factions on the same card? Shouldnt they start a battle and after that, only cruisers of one faction survive?


You only start a battle if you move THROUGH a card with cruisers. You can still have multiple cruisers on the same card (along the edges).


Exactly. The battle starts when two cruiser fleets occupy the same gate. And when you move through a sector with an opponent's cruiser fleet patrolling a gate, you HAVE to move into combat.

However, it's perfectly legal to patrol a sector from one gate while another player patrols from a different gate - it's what makes that Core Sector look like a giant standoff in most games!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Davide Banchini
Italy
Faenza
Ravenna
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Ok, good, this wipes the fog of the example picture on page 32, I wasnt able to grasp the meaning of that X ILLEGAL MOVES X thing about the red cruiser, pratically he can arrive on one gate, but cant move to other gates of the same card without starting a battle due to the yellow cruiser presence. Got it now, and that clears the sabotage too, thanks a lot!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
sygyzy
United States
Goleta
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
seanp wrote:
rrrrupp wrote:

You only start a battle if you move THROUGH a card with cruisers. You can still have multiple cruisers on the same card (along the edges).


Exactly. The battle starts when two cruiser fleets occupy the same gate. And when you move through a sector with an opponent's cruiser fleet patrolling a gate, you HAVE to move into combat.

However, it's perfectly legal to patrol a sector from one gate while another player patrols from a different gate - it's what makes that Core Sector look like a giant standoff in most games!


I am still confused here. What is considered through a card? Does it mean that you end up on a gate that is not one of the six on the card you just moved through?

I understand what you are saying about combat ensues when two fleets occupy the same gate, but then you say when you move through a sector when a fleet patrolling a gate you have to fight. What if you are patrolling the upper right gate and I am currently sitting on the west gate. If I move right to the east gate, do we have to fight?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Rupp
United States
Marion
Iowa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sygyzy wrote:
seanp wrote:
rrrrupp wrote:

You only start a battle if you move THROUGH a card with cruisers. You can still have multiple cruisers on the same card (along the edges).


Exactly. The battle starts when two cruiser fleets occupy the same gate. And when you move through a sector with an opponent's cruiser fleet patrolling a gate, you HAVE to move into combat.

However, it's perfectly legal to patrol a sector from one gate while another player patrols from a different gate - it's what makes that Core Sector look like a giant standoff in most games!


I am still confused here. What is considered through a card? Does it mean that you end up on a gate that is not one of the six on the card you just moved through?

I understand what you are saying about combat ensues when two fleets occupy the same gate, but then you say when you move through a sector when a fleet patrolling a gate you have to fight. What if you are patrolling the upper right gate and I am currently sitting on the west gate. If I move right to the east gate, do we have to fight?


You travel from gate A to gate B. To make this travel, you must move through a card.... that is the card you've moved through
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
sygyzy
United States
Goleta
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
rrrrupp wrote:

And when you move through a sector with an opponent's cruiser fleet patrolling a gate, you HAVE to move into combat.

You travel from gate A to gate B. To make this travel, you must move through a card.... that is the card you've moved through


So which is it? Combat ensues when you move through any card with an opponent's cruiser fleet patrolling ANY gate on that card? Or only if you pass through/end up on the same gate?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Doughty
United States
California
flag msg tools
OVERTEXT HERE
badge
Funded by supporters like you!
Avatar
mb
sygyzy wrote:
rrrrupp wrote:
And when you move through a sector with an opponent's cruiser fleet patrolling a gate, you HAVE to move into combat.

You travel from gate A to gate B. To make this travel, you must move through a card.... that is the card you've moved through


So which is it? Combat ensues when you move through any card with an opponent's cruiser fleet patrolling ANY gate on that card? Or only if you pass through/end up on the same gate?


It is both. You may not move a cruiser fleet through a card patrolled by any enemy cruiser fleets except to move to one of the gates patrolled by an enemy. Then you begin combat with that player.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
sygyzy
United States
Goleta
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh wow. So you have to potentially make a detour to fight your enemy, then spend ANOTHER move, later on, to actually move in the direction you actually want?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mikko Saari
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
http://www.lautapeliopas.fi/ - the best Finnish board game resource!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Consider your movement across the sector intercepted by the patrolling enemy cruisers.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.