Subject: Wargames in Fuyang rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sean McKenzie
United States
Hawaii
flag msg tools
mbmb
I will be in Fuyang, Anhui in 2 months, and for 10 moths after that.

Anyone know any places/people?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jumbit
China
Zhejiang
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Middle of nowhere, man. You'll be lucky to find any gamers at all, much less wargamers. At least you'll miss the summer heat. Good luck!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean McKenzie
United States
Hawaii
flag msg tools
mbmb
Thanks.

I like many of you I suspect, will be an English Teacher. I plan on teaching my students. I already have approval for this, although my guess is in fact, they do not really know what I am talking about when I say games.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hamish Sterling
Australia
Cairns
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Hi Sean - I was an English teacher for 8 years in China.

Only once or twice did I take in a board game to an adult class. RISK and Monopoly.

It's a difficult sell to have students and school cronies accept this as a teaching method. At the very least, you'll be teaching some vocabulary but you should never allow for any chance of criticism from a parent, colleague or student for wasting time.

Take it from me, as I've taught kindy through to advanced professional classes......you need to be 'showing' that you're imparting knowledge.

Restyling games into classroom activities are acceptable...but only as a means of re-enforcing vocab or grammar.

A great way to teach numbers and letters is to play a simple Battleship styled game with the class. Have you grid map drawn and your 'items' in place. As an example.....you could say the students are farmers looking for carrots to feed their rabbit. You can call on students one by one to say a letter & number, and you can respond with a simple yes or no.