Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

A Game of Thrones: The Board Game (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Attack with Full Army, Move Full Army? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bobby Smith
Canada
flag msg tools
If you are attacking with your full army, for example, a knight and two footmen, then are victorious, do you have to move your entire army into the new position or can you leave pieces behind?

I would like to attack with my full force, but also leave troops behind to defend, is this possible?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Schuster
Germany
Bretten
Baden-Württemberg
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Celcius wrote:
If you are attacking with your full army, for example, a knight and two footmen, then are victorious, do you have to move your entire army into the new position or can you leave pieces behind?


You have to move all pieces that attacked.


Celcius wrote:
I would like to attack with my full force, but also leave troops behind to defend, is this possible?


No.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Radosław Michalak
Poland
Bytom
flag msg tools
Gaming is for having fun. Fun requires clear rules.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
page 15. wrote:
When a player moves one or more units into an area
containing units from another house, he starts a combat
as the attacker.

In GoT (unlike in some other games) you move your units before battle.

BTW I see it's not you first question recently.
I recommend this link: http://fantasyflightgames.com/ffg_content/agot-bg-2nd-ed/sup...
Ctrl + F and you can find basic rules before we answer here
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bobby Smith
Canada
flag msg tools
Radziol wrote:
page 15. wrote:
When a player moves one or more units into an area
containing units from another house, he starts a combat
as the attacker.

In GoT (unlike in some other games) you move your units before battle.

BTW I see it's not you first question recently.
I recommend this link: http://fantasyflightgames.com/ffg_content/agot-bg-2nd-ed/sup...
Ctrl + F and you can find basic rules before we answer here


Thanks, I have read through this, but only played one game so far. This community has been amazing at answering these questions. I thank everyone dearly for their time, effort and experience. I will double-check the book before asking again, thanks.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Rice
United States
LIHUE
HI
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is a common question. Unlike Risk (where the battle happens at the border), in GoT the battle happens IN the contested area -- if you don't move your units in, they don't fight.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cameron McKenzie
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This also means you have to decide whether or not to leave a power token behind, before seeing how the battle plays out.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.