GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
7,771 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
22 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
12 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Field Commander: Rommel» Forums » Sessions

Subject: First play: Ghost Division AAR rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Roel van der Hoorn
Netherlands
Enschede
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is an AAR of my first play yesterday of the Ghost Division campaign of FC: Rommel. Before I played I did watch the excellent play-through by The Late Night Gamer, so I did have some understanding of how to play.

Setup
* Allied Operations: 37th Arm

May 12 to 19, 1940

Axis

Refit
-

Battle Moves
* 6th Schutzen moves into Dinant
* 7th Schutzen moves into Dinant
* 78th Art moves into Dinant
* 25th Pz moves into Dinant

Resolve Battles
Dinant:
* Allies: 2 BP: Air Raid, Overrun
* Axis: 8 BPP: Dig-In, Exploit, Intel, Press
1st Round:
* Axis Intel removes Allied Air Raid
* Allies: 5th DIM (hit), 4th (miss)
* Axis: 6th Schutzen (hit), 7th Schutzen (miss), 78th Art (miss), 25th Pz (2 hits)
* Result: Axis Dig-In, 5th DIM (reduced), 4th (destroyed)
2nd Round (Press):
* Allies: 5th DIM (miss)
* Axis: 6th Schutzen (miss), 7th Schutzen (miss), 78th Art (hit), 25th Pz (hit)
* Result: 5th DIM (destroyed)
Upgrades:
* 78th Art: Veteran 1(1)-0-0
* 25th Pz: Veteran 0(0)-1-1
Exploit:
* 6th Schutzen moves into Brussels
* 25th Pz moves into Brussels
* Axis Supplies: 3-2=1

Brussels:
* Allies: 1 BP: Press
* Axis: 4 BPP: Dig-In, Disrupt
1st Round:
* Allies: Chasseurs (miss)
* Axis: Disrupt (1 hit), 6th Schutzen (miss), 25th Pz (2 hits)
* Result: Chasseurs (destroyed)
* Allied Supplies: 4-1=3
Upgrades:
* 6th Schutzen: Veteran +1 BPP

Non-Battle Moves
-

Supply Check
-

Axis Resupply
* 3 destroyed Allied Forces: 3 RP
3 RP:
* Axis Supplies: 1+6=7

Allies

Refit
-

Allied Operations Check
* +2 Forces: 5th DIM, 4th

Allied Orders
* 10th Durham holds in Cambrai
* 1st Tyneside holds in Cambrai
* 11th Durham advances into Brussels
* 3rd advances into Dinant
* 4th RTR holds in Arras
* 7th RTR holds in Arras

Resolve Battles
Brussels:
* Allies: 1 BP: Dig-In
* Axis: 4+1=5 BPP: Dig-In, Press, Tactics
1st Round:
* Allies: 11th Durham (miss)
* Axis: 25th Pz (hit), 6th Schutzen (hit)
* Result: Allied Dig-In, 11th Durham (reduced)
2nd Round (Press):
* Allies: 11th Durham (hit)
* Axis: 25th Pz (hit), 6th Schutzen (hit)
* Result: Axis Dig-In, 11th Durham (destroyed)
Upgrades:
* 6th Schutzen: Elite +2 BPP

Dinant:
* Allies: 1 BP: Disrupt
* Axis: 4+1 BPP: Dig-In, Press, Tactics
* Axis Supplies: 7-1=6
1st Round:
* Allies: Disrupt (miss), 3rd (hit)
* Axis: 78th Art (miss, Tactics: hit), 7th Schutzen (hit)
* Result: Axis Dig-In, 3rd (destroyed)
Upgrades:
* 7th Schutzen: Veteran +1 BPP

Allied Resupply
* Caen: 1 Force: 1st Arm
* Calais: 4 Supplies
* Paris: 4 Supplies
* Allied Supplies: 3+8=11



Considerations after May 12 to 19, 1940
I went to Brussels, because it is one area closer to Cherbourg than Reims is. Note that the upgraded 25th Pz can move 4 areas for 3 Supplies during Non-Battle Moves, so if Caen and Calais remained empty after Allied Resupply, the 25th could Blitz into Cherbourg. Supplies give a lot of flexibility, so during Axis Resupply I chose Supplies over the Totenkopf Regiment. The additional BPP upgrades only add to this flexibility, because it saves me from using Supplies during Battle. My goal for May 20 to 27, 1940 was Cambrai and Arras.

May 20 to 27, 1940

Axis

Refit
-

Battle Moves
* 6th Schutzen moves into Cambrai
* 7th Schutzen moves into Cambrai
* 78th Art moves into Cambrai
* 25th Pz moves into Cambrai

Resolve Battles
Cambrai:
* Allies: 2+2 BP: AT Guns, Dig-In, Press, Tactics
* Axis: 8+3 BPP: Dig-In, Disrupt, Exploit, Intel, Overrun
* Allied Supplies: 11-2=9
1st Round:
* Axis Intel removes Allied Dig-In
* Allies: AT Guns (miss, Tactics: miss), 10th Durham (hit), 1st Tyneside (miss)
* Axis: Disrupt (1 hit), 6th Schutzen (miss), 7th Schutzen (hit), 78th Art (miss), 25th Pz (2 hits)
* Result: Axis Dig-In, 1st Tyneside (reduced), 10th Durham (destroyed)
* Allied Supplies: 9-1=8
2nd Round (Press):
* Allies: AT Guns (miss), 1st Tyneside (miss)
* Axis: 6th Schutzen (miss), 7th Schutzen (miss), 78th Art (miss), 25th Pz (hit)
* Result: 1st Tyneside (destroyed)
Upgrades:
* 25th Pz: Elite 1(1)-1-1
* 78th Art: Elite 2(1)-1-0
Exploit:
* 6th Schutzen moves into Arras
* 78th Art moves into Arras
* 25th Pz moves into Arras
* Axis Supplies: 6-3=3

Arras:
* Allies: 2+2 BP: Ambush, AT Guns, Overrun, Press
* Axis: 6+2+2 BPP: Dig-In, Disrupt, Exploit, Intel, Press, Tactics
* Allied Supplies: 8-2=6
* Axis Supplies: 3-2=1
1st Round:
* Axis Intel removes Allied AT Guns
* Allies: 4th RTR (hit), 7th RTR (hit)
* Result (Ambush): Dig-In (Axis), 6th Schutzen (reduced)
* Axis: Disrupt (miss), 78th Art (miss, Tactics: hit), 25th Pz (2 hits), 6th Schutzen (miss)
* Result: 4th RTR (reduced), 7th RTR (destroyed)
2nd Round (1st Press):
* Allies: 4th RTR (hit)
* Axis: 78th Art (hit), 25th Pz (2 hits), 6th Schutzen (miss)
* Result: 4th RTR (destroyed), 78th Art (reduced)
Upgrades:
-
Exploit:
* 25th Pz moves into Lille
* Axis Supplies: 1-1=0

Non-Battle Moves
-

Supply Check
-

Axis Resupply
* 2 Allied Objectives held: 4 RP
* 6 destroyed Allied Forces: 6 RP
10 RP:
* 15th Pz: Lille
* Axis Supplies: 0+10=10

Allies

Refit
-

Allied Operations Check
* 1 Advance

Allied Orders
* 1st Arm advances into Le Havre

Resolve Battles
-

Allied Resupply
* Caen: 4 Supplies
* Calais: 1 Force: 1st Tyneside
* Paris: 4 Supplies
* Allied Supplies: 6+8=14



Considerations after May 20 to 27, 1940
Cambrai and Arras are taken as planned, although I had two regiments reduced at Arras. Using Exploit to advance the 25th Pz to Lille allowed me to Resupply the 15th Pz there instead of in Liege. I'm a little in doubt what to do for May 28 to June 4, 1940. I can either move the 15th Pz, 25th Pz and 78th Art or 6th Schutzen into Calais, use Exploit and move two of them into Le Havre, holding Calais and Le Havre. Or I can move the 15th Pz and the 78th Art into Calais, use Exploit and move them into Le Havre, and then during the Non-Battle Moves move the 25th Pz using 3 Supplies from Lille via Calais, Le Havre and Caen into Cherbourg.

May 28 to June 4, 1940

Axis

Refit
* 78th Art: reduced to Veteran 1(1)-0-0
* Axis Supplies: 10-2=8

Battle Moves
* 6th Schutzen moves into Calais
* 78th Art moves into Calais
* 15th Pz moves into Calais
* 25th Pz moves into Calais

Resolve Battles
Calais:
* Allies: 1+2 BP: Ambush, AT Guns, Overrun
* Axis: 7+2 BPP: Dig-In, Disrupt, Exploit, Intel, Press
* Allied Supplies: 14-2=12
1st Round:
* Axis Intel removes Allied AT Guns
* Allies: 1st Tyneside (miss)
* Result (Ambush): -
* Axis: Disrupt (2 hits), 15th Pz (hit), 25th Pz (hit), 6th Schutzen (miss), 78th Art (miss)
* Result: 1st Tyneside (destroyed)
* Allied Supplies: 12-2=10
Upgrades:
* 15th Pz: Veteran 1(0)-1-0
Exploit:
* 6th Schutzen moves to Arras
* 15th Pz moves to Le Havre
* 25th Pz moves to Le Havre
* Axis Supplies: 8-3=5

Le Havre:
* Allies: 1+2 BP: AT Guns, Intel, Overrun
* Axis: 4+3 BPP: Dig-In, Exploit, Intel
* Allied Supplies: 10-2=8
* Axis Supplies: 5-3=2
1st Round:
* Allies Intel and Axis Intel cancel each other out
* Allies: AT Guns (miss), 1st Arm (hit)
* Axis: 15th Pz (2 hits), 25th Pz (hit)
* Result: Dig-In (Axis), 1st Arm (destroyed)
Upgrades:
* 15th Pz: Elite 1(1)-2-0

Exploit:
* 15th Pz moves into Caen
* 25th Pz moves into Caen
* Axis Supplies: 2-2=0

Non-Battle Moves
-

Supply Check
-

Axis Resupply
* 2 Allied Objectives held: 4 RP
* 2 destroyed Allied Forces: 2 RP
* 1 unmoved Axis Force: 2 RP
8 RP:
* Axis Supplies: 0+16=16

Allies

Refit
-

Allied Operations Check
* 2 Advances

Allied Orders
-

Resolve Battles
-

Allied Resupply
* Caen: 1 Supply
* Calais: 4 Supplies
* Paris: 4 Supplies
* Allied Supplies: 8+9=17



Considerations after May 28 to June 4, 1940
Well, I didn't go with the option of moving the 25th Pz in the Non-Battle Moves step, because I thought I had 6 Axis Supplies instead of 10. By the time I realized this, I had already moved the 25th Pz into Calais. Otherwise I may have played it differently. Anyways, I got quite lucky with all the rolls on additional Allied units, because in total there were only 2 reinforcements. There are no Allied units left, so I can safely move into Cherbourg. Effectively, there is nothing to do for the next round, except move into Cherbourg. An easy victory with 19 VP, but I think I could have played it better in the last round.

Hopefully this AAR will help others. I played with the optional rule that Exploit movement counted towards the maximum movement of a Force. However, I couldn't find a rule whether it is allowed to split Forces if you Exploit them, so I played that I could. Not sure if that is correct.

Edit: added images
15 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Brown
United States
Westfield
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Per the FAQ, you cannot split Exploit. All your Exploiting forces have to go to one area. The only time you did it, the 6th Schutzen didn't contribute more than BPP, though 3 BPP isn't anything to sneeze at.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roel van der Hoorn
Netherlands
Enschede
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Per which FAQ? It's not in the official one on Dan Verssen's website.

3 BPP is quite something indeed, although I could still have moved the 6th Schutzen from Arras to Calais, but keep them in Calais instead of Exploiting them back to Arras. This would of course mean I had one objective less under control at the end of the May 26 to June 4 period. So 2 Resupply Points less, but one Supply more.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Brown
United States
Westfield
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The FAQ in the file section here on BGG. Not sure if it's official or not, but it's what I've used. Might have to see if there's anything on here or ConSim world that backs up the FAQ.

And that said, it's a solitaire game so don't feel like you have to play to someone else's standards as long as you're enjoying it. :)

Yeah, I don't think it would have made much of a difference in the long run.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Brown
United States
Westfield
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Here's the word from the man himself which is probably how it got into the FAQ.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roel van der Hoorn
Netherlands
Enschede
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ahh, yes. Thanks!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roel van der Hoorn
Netherlands
Enschede
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Another mistake I made: during the battle in Arras I used Dig-In to counter an Ambush hit. According to the same FAQ you apparently cannot use Dig-In on an Ambush hit.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roel van der Hoorn
Netherlands
Enschede
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And one more mistake: a Battle is over after all Battle Rounds are completed. Even if all Forces of a sides in an area are destroyed, AT Guns, Artillery, etc. can still fire during additional Battle Rounds.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.