Popular Tags: [View All]
Craig McRoberts
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
A post over in Recommendations not long ago got me thinking about something. They were looking for a deck-building game with a religious theme. I'm a hobby designer and it doesn't take much for design ideas to pop into my head. The completely terrible idea that appeared with this was a DBG wherein players were compiling a religious text to try and gain the most followers, while avoiding targeting specific groups or making contradictions.

For obvious reasons, this could raise the ire of a number of people of many different backgrounds, despite being non-specific satire. So what's the line of satire that shouldn't be crossed? Is there one?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Kundlak
Slovakia
Bratislava
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I say political corectness is bull****. Design what you want and go from there...

If someone cannot see past a mild conflict of his own religion with other beliefs in a BOARD GAME (I am not talking about a christian insulting an islamist on a card directly, that is of course a low blow), then I do not know anything anymore...
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Boaty McBoatface
England
County of Essex
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
None, and no.

I am also going to make an RSP prediction, about 5 pages I should think.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cornixt
msg tools
badge
Cheap as chips
mbmbmb
There is no line. Some people will be offended just because religion is involved, and making fun of one group of superstitions makes people very defensive of their own.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig McRoberts
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I tried to word things in such a way to avoid RSP. I'm not trying to make a statement here. This is an important thing designers need to think about, I believe.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Boaty McBoatface
England