Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Manhattan» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can you play directly onto your own towers? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jo L.
Belgium
Gent
flag msg tools
badge
My scythe... I like to keep it next to where my heart used to be.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have the German version of the game and I can't seem to find it in the rules. Sorry if this has been asked before.

Can you build directly onto your own towers?

For example, orange first builds a 3 tower and then puts a 4 tower on top of that. Now nobody can play on that tower anymore because there are no single pieces of 7 or more. This way, orange can just keep building on his own tower and go for the highest tower on the board. That doesn't seem fair to me...

Thanks for your clarifications
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tomello Visello
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The answer is both yes and no.

I have both Rio Grande and Mayfair copies of the game but am unable to consult them without traveling long distances at this time. Here is a quote from an online file at Rio Grande website

A player may place a building part on an empty site or on a sky-scraper that belongs to him without restriction.

In this copy I cannot find mention of "Monopoly" "Anti-Trust" as a variant (I think I learned it as standard) which prohibits what I jocularly refer to as "topping yourself". I do however remember this discussed somewhere in printed rules I own.

My own practice is that topping is only permitted when playing with very young players. Accordingly I even restrain middle-schoolers from taking the easy way out when I supervise an after school program.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Lundström
Sweden
Täby
flag msg tools
Now who are these five?
badge
Come, come, all children who love fairy tales.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
;y take is yes, you can.

It's also usually a very bad move to do, as you're the only one building on that tower after that.

Granted, I haven't played immensely much, but when I have played, I have not seen that as a game-breaking thing to do. It usually just punishes you, as the contested buildings end up way higher.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.