nico34fr nico34fr
France
flag msg tools
first : production SC says we can build "units" on a system that contains a SD.
second : SD are refered as units on rules

so we play it as if SD were units and could be built with production strategy card on a system that already contains a SD (along with other units)

but today i went upon a thread on the net that said only a tactical action could allow to build a SD

so who's wrong?
thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The FAQ addresses this issue:

Q: Can a player build a Space Dock when executing the primary ability of the Production Strategy?
A: No.

The same would apply to the secondary for the same reason. While the card itself doesn't have the full rules (as they wouldn't fit), the rulebook makes it clear that you are producing units at the existing space docks, and new space docks are not built by existing space docks.

To build a space dock, you must manually activate the system.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
nico34fr nico34fr
France
flag msg tools
ok, can we build a space dock during the production phase of a transfert action ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
R H
United States
Bethany
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
nico34fr wrote:
ok, can we build a space dock during the production phase of a transfert action ?


Yes.

Page 26 of the rules:

BUILDING A NEW SPACE DOCK
In order to build a new Space Dock on a planet, the
following requirements must be met:
1) The system (that contains the planet on which you
want to build the Space Dock) has just been activated,
and is currently at the “Production” step of the
Activation or Transfer Sequence.
2) The active player must have controlled the planet
for the entire current round. Thus, it is not possible
to build a Space Dock on a planet that has just been
acquired during the current round.
3) The planet does not already contain a Space Dock
(only one Space Dock per planet is allowed).
4) The system does not contain any enemy ships.
If these requirements are met, the activating player
may take an available Space Dock from his reinforcements,
spend 4 resources, and place the Space Dock
on the chosen planet. Next round the Space Dock may
begin producing units for its owner. It is important to
remember that a Space Dock is tied to a specific planet
and is not considered to be “in space” and so does
not participate in Space Battle, nor can it be attacked
directly by enemy ships.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As said, yes. However, you can only build in one of the two systems, period. Do you can't build a Space Dock in one system, and other units in the other system.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
nico34fr nico34fr
France
flag msg tools
thank you all for the quick response
we are about to start a 6 player game, i'll play jol nar, wish me luck
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.