Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
32 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

Android: Netrunner» Forums » General

Subject: I would use this card if......... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Grant Cain
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Howdy. After looking at a few cards I haven't used in a while, I started thinking about what it would take for me to actually USE them, competitively or not, in games. Here are a couple of mine, feel free to add your own.

I would use Dinosaurus if it cost 4 instead of 5 (nitpick, I know).
I would use Salvage if I could put counters on it while facedown and the trace was 3 instead of 2.
I would use Amazon Industrial Zone if it lowered rez cost by 4 instead of 3.
I would use Exile if he had a slightly higher influence (17 I think).
I would use Marker if it was a barrier or sentry instead of a code gate.
I would use all-nighter if I could use the ability as a paid ability.
I would use Monolith if it let you search for one of the cards you wanted to install.
I would use LLDS Processor if it boosted strength by 2 for the turn.

And so on.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Dryden
msg tools
I'd use swarm if it cost 4 creds.
I'd use woodcutter if parasite didn't exsist.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Rubin
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would use every awesome Asset if the trash cost were higher.
13 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Redston
Israel
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would use Salvage if it read

Salvage can be advanced. For each advancement token on Salvage, it gains +1 strength and ">TraceX- If successful, give the runner 1 tag. X is equal to the number of advancement tokens on Salvage."

So, for instance, if you advance it 4 times (even while unrezzed) then it has 4 strength and 4 subs of "Trace4. If successful, give the runner 1 tag."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Caught in a mechanism
Brazil
RJ
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would use Net Shield if it read:

"1 cred: Prevent the first net damage during a run."

(But I may end up including it anyway, after a losing streak to Jinteki in the last few days.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew
Japan
Tokyo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A little bit different, but I actually avoided Caprice for a long time because (as a new player) I didn't want to figure out the rubbish about when she can be rezzed and whether you can respond to no action.

I'm annoyed by crappy drafting/templating that make cards like Accelerated Diagnostics, Caprice, Tori Hanzo the site of obscure discussions over timing windows, whether damage is "first" if it's been converted, or whether particular cards are no longer in your deck because they've been drawn by other cards. Such a great game, but every time one of these rule discussions come up I wonder why it's so complicated.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Blumklotz
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
... Accounts Siphon/SanSan City Grid/AstroScript Pilot Program didn't exist!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Redston
Israel
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
fameros wrote:
"1 cred: Prevent the first net damage during a run."

Your version is much worse against Chronos Protocol with Neural EMP.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian H
United States
Anacortes
Washington
flag msg tools
Mess with the best, die like the rest.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would use Monolith if it allowed you to install from your Heap (and maybe Stack) as well as your Grip. One of the main issues with it is trying to get everything in-hand (as well as, you know, the massive credit cost).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Harris Enniss
United States
Goleta
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I would use Because We Built It if it had Tennin's ability.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad McGown
United States
Pittsburg
Kansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would use Mushin No Shen if I could score the agenda that I installed that same turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew
Japan
Tokyo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bm_eagle wrote:
I would use Mushin No Shen if I could score the agenda that I installed that same turn.


Mushin no Shin is excellent - you should try using it anyway! And with Plan B you can score an agenda before your next turn...
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Dilloo
United States
Bothell
Washington
flag msg tools
Everything is relative to perception, and your perception is limited.
badge
The Ginger Ninja
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually, I built an Exile deck that I love. If we got another means to install from heap, either neutral or in-house, I think he could be a beast.

It really is the trash cost that causes a lot of cards not to be played.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gnit Wohc
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I would use Tenma Line if it's ability cost was 2 creds (or even 3 creds) instead of a click.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick K
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I would use Kraken if it was a Resource with a trash trigger.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris D
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would use Alpha if it cost 4 to install.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daine .

Illinois
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
BABW either gave a credit for advancing cards (not just ICE) or a click for advancing instead of the credit.

Disrupter if it were a hardware.

Muresh body suit if it were neutral.

Net police if it were zero to rez.

S&W .35 (or whatever it's called) if it were neutral and either cheaper to play or cheaper to use. Wow. They really dropped the ball on the design of that one. If you're going to make caprice disgustingly strong, maybe make a playable card to answer it. The gun is just unplayable outside of criminal and barely playable in criminal.

Wyldside if there were an in-faction way to kill it.

Singularity if it cost 2 or less or weren't a double.

False Echo if there trigger were credits rather than a trash.

Leviathan if there were no other code gate breakers or AI breakers in the game.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alak Kalan
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmb
Bullfrog if it also prevented from checking out.
Chakana if you would get a virus token for any successful central server run.
Copycat if using it was a paid ability for a few credits instead of trashing.
Corprate Shuffle if it was 1 influence. (I have a deck that could use it, but it isn't NBN.)
Creeper if it was 2c:Break up to 2 sentry subroutines.
Data Hound if it had 4 strength and trace4.
Dedicated Response Team if it triggered on a successful run.
Donut Taganes if he was 0 influence.
Eureka if it cost 0c.
Expert Schedule Analyzer if it was a hardware.
Hourglass if it cost 3 to rez.
Leverage if the corp couldn't take 2 bad pub to prevent it.
Levy University if it had a trash cost of 5.
Monolith if it could install the programs from Stack.
Mutate if it cost 0.
Paper Tripping if it wasn't a priority event. (But that would be OP with AS.)
Power Nap if it was 2c for each double.
Starlight Crusade Funding if both Eureka and Power Nap were different.
Wyrm if his base strength was ... let's say 4.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Redston
Israel
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Alakallanar wrote:
Dedicated Response Team if it triggered on a successful run.

But it does...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gin Teki
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mb
kroen wrote:
Alakallanar wrote:
Dedicated Response Team if it triggered on a successful run.

But it does...


Only when a runner is tagged.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bradley Galbraith
Canada
Lower Sackville
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Searlichek wrote:
kroen wrote:
Alakallanar wrote:
Dedicated Response Team if it triggered on a successful run.

But it does...


Only when a runner is tagged.

Maybe he is trying to make the distinction that it triggers after the successful runs ends, rather than when the run is successful.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad McGown
United States
Pittsburg
Kansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Daine wrote:
Leviathan if there were no other code gate breakers or AI breakers in the game.



Nice!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher MacLeod
Canada
Moncton
New Brunswick
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
The Scene: FFG Headquarters - Creation and Control

Damon: Ok, let's talk about False Echo. It has to be Kit themed, but also irredeemably bad. In the shower this morning I was thinking: what if we took Forged Activation Orders, and removed everything good about it?

Lukas: Well, the nice thing about FAO is you can safely see what ICE is without running, or potentially trash it if the Corp is poor. It's pretty versatile and can compete for deck space which is at a premium.

Damon: Let's say you have to run past the ICE first, so now there's no safety bonus. Those poor Corps shouldn't have to trash ICE either, how about if it just goes back in HQ? Then Corp can just install it again.

Lukas: I think you've done a great job removing any reason to possibly choose this over other cards. But can we do better and actively punish the player that just wants to try it out? If it was a program that cost MU, they might not even be able to install it!

Damon: Truly, you are an inspiration to us all.
26 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alak Kalan
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmb
PaxCecilia wrote:
Searlichek wrote:
kroen wrote:
Alakallanar wrote:
Dedicated Response Team if it triggered on a successful run.

But it does...


Only when a runner is tagged.

Maybe he is trying to make the distinction that it triggers after the successful runs ends, rather than when the run is successful.


That is what I meant. So if the runner trashes Dedicated Response Team it would still fire first.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zeb
United States
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
You found me!
badge
Hiss.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Alakallanar wrote:
PaxCecilia wrote:
Searlichek wrote:
kroen wrote:
Alakallanar wrote:
Dedicated Response Team if it triggered on a successful run.

But it does...


Only when a runner is tagged.

Maybe he is trying to make the distinction that it triggers after the successful runs ends, rather than when the run is successful.


That is what I meant. So if the runner trashes Dedicated Response Team it would still fire first.


I like this much better!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2  Next »   | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.