Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
22 Posts

Terra Mystica» Forums » Rules

Subject: Clarification on the most well-known strategy rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Larry Rice
United States
Irvine
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Upgrade one of your starting houses into a trading post. Upgrade trading post to Stronghold. Your starting resources should be enough to cover both. Don't forget you start with a certain number of resources depicted on the top right hand corner of your Race board and then also take income immediately in the first round.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
lonnie kim
United States
milpitas
CA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
i dont have much strategy advice to offer (im pretty bad at this game), but many (most/all?) of the races can build their stronghold on the first turn.


look at the witches above.
they start with 3 cubes and $15.
on the first turn, their income will be 3 cubes, and possibly whatever bonus tile they choose.
this gives the witches at least 6 cubes and $15.

to upgrade to a trading post and then a stronghold costs a total of 6 cubes and $9 (or $12 if youre not next to somebody).

possibly you are forgetting to take income on the beginning of that first turn?
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pete Goch
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pankai wrote:
larryjrice wrote:
Upgrade one of your starting houses into a trading post. Upgrade trading post to Stronghold. Your starting resources should be enough to cover both. Don't forget you start with a certain number of resources depicted on the top right hand corner of your Race board and then also take income immediately in the first round.

Well, yes, but, almost all factions need 6 workers for upgrading a Dwelling to a Stronghold... And I start with 3 - 5, the most, with the bonus card "2 workers"...


lonnie913 wrote:


possibly you are forgetting to take income on the beginning of that first turn?
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Larry Rice
United States
Irvine
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TheOneTrueZeke wrote:
pankai wrote:
[q="larryjrice"]Upgrade one of your

possibly you are forgetting to take income on the beginning of that first turn?


That's what I'm thinking as well.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Larry Rice
United States
Irvine
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just keep them off to the side. The icon is there by the temples just to show you receive one after building a temple OR sanctuary. Or in the case of 1-2 races, you also might get another one from the stronghold.

Just remember that you can never select a duplicate of one you already own.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Goldfarb
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Usually you don't put favor tiles on the board. You're thinking of town tiles. Favor tiles you can just put next to your player board.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
lonnie kim
United States
milpitas
CA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
that picture on your player board is to remind you that you gain a favor tile.
its not meant to hold your favor tile(s).

put your favor tiles wherever is helpful for you.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Goldfarb
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The reason the symbol says "x1" is that at least one faction (the Chaos Magicians) gets two favor tiles when they build a temple or their Sanctuary.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Larkin
England
Brighton
Sussex
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
wrote:
possibly you are forgetting to take income on the beginning of that first turn?


Did that once after explaining the game. It is quite a handicap!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Eisen
United States
Redwood City
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Probably worth:

1. Changing title of thread to "How do you buy a a stronghold on turn 1"?
2. Moving topic to Rules section as this is not a strategy article.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc Bennett
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
larryjrice wrote:

Just remember that you can never select a duplicate of one you already own.


really? I never played that way. did I miss that in the rules?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rhett Morgan
United States
Washington
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Looks like it. You can only have one of each favor.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Eisen
United States
Redwood City
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Prodigaldax wrote:
Looks like it. You can only have one of each favor.


Drooling hungrily over having all 3 favors granting 2 VP when building a dwelling....
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rhett Morgan
United States
Washington
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Keep drooling... I'll take my reasonably balanced game tyvm.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Turn 1 Temple is better than turn 1 Stronghold in many cases (of course Swarmlings can do both). In fact turn 1 Temple taking the Earth 1 favour (+2 VPs per Dwelling placed thereafter) is what I would call "the most well-known strategy") being quite as successful as it is boring.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rhett Morgan
United States
Washington
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, it's boring. Hoping the expansion helps make it less successful...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jonatan dyre
Denmark
flag msg tools
Prodigaldax wrote:
Yeah, it's boring. Hoping the expansion helps make it less successful...


it should at least in theory, because the increased point to fight for in network scoring at end should make engine building favors a little more favorable. Also a 5-8 dwellings opening that some races sometimes can do instead of either Temple or SH, is going to be a better option, because it boost the engine enough to have a strong Network at the end.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.