Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Flash Point: Fire Rescue – Veteran and Rescue Dog» Forums » Rules

Subject: crew change dog rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Patrick Dettmar
United States
Ontario
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can the dog do a crew change? If so, do you then have 10 a with the new character?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
chris leko
United States
Brooksville
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
What's so great about it?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dettmarp wrote:
Can the dog do a crew change? If so, do you then have 10 a with the new character?

I imagine it can, as it's a player.

I'd also imagine the new player can only have at most 3 extra action points, I don't think they'd inherent all of the previous characters, but I don't have the rules in front of me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lutz Pietschker
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
often wrote:
Can the dog do a crew change?

I think so, too.

often wrote:
I don't think they'd inherent all of the previous characters, but I don't have the rules in front of me.

I think the new character cannot have more than his usual allowance of APs, inherited or otherwise. Whether saved AP are inherited by the new role is not explicitly mentioned in the original rules anyway, but the consensus seems to be that they are in case of a crew change action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Dettmar
United States
Ontario
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
well, the dog says it cannot do any actions not listed on his card, and "crew change" is not listed.

for the crew change action in the rulebook, it says you get the action points from your previous character.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Carroll
msg tools
Personally, I believe it's more realistic to not allow the dog to change. When human players change they simply change out their gear. Doesn't really work with the dog.

Also the dog can't really take commands from the captain. I think you should use common sense when using the dog.

I've used the dog twice so far. First time it was tough. Couldn't get the fires down for access. Second time, the dog saved five victims!

Like the other players sometimes it works, sometimes not.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lutz Pietschker
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Boomer1000 wrote:
…it's more realistic … the dog…

These are words that don't go together very well
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Ng
Singapore
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dettmarp wrote:
well, the dog says it cannot do any actions not listed on his card, and "crew change" is not listed.

for the crew change action in the rulebook, it says you get the action points from your previous character.


This is indeed a funny topic, but indeed one that we players will faced.

I would have to agree on this point.

Here is what is mentioned on the card. (brief)

"The rescue dog is limited to these actions.
Move
Drag
Squeeze
Reveal

The rescue dog is strictly limited to the above actions. Among others, the Rescue Dog cannot :
a) carry hazardous materials, portable ladders, etc
b) Open/Close Doors
c) Chop walls
d) Extinguish fire/smoke
e) Climb portable ladders
f) Drive or take any Vehicle actions
g) Dodge."



EDIT : Dog cannot crew change because it can only perform the 4 actions shown above. Crew change is not listed.

We then have to analyse the situation. If you have 3 or more players, you do not need a crew change for the dog. Since technically dog can't crew change and you have other crew abilities to make up for it.

The problem arises when you play a 2-player game and you have, 1 rescue dog and 1 random fireman.

Only the fireman can perform actions, extinguish smoke, open doors and chop. Hence the rescue dog is quite disadvantage.




With regards to the crew change and AP.

"Players may swap their existing Specialist card with any Specialist card not currently in play.

The player's Firefighter has the AP (less the 2 AP required for a crew change) and special abilities of the newly selected Specialist for the entire turn."


Think it will apply to, the generalist 5AP. Crew change to any.

5 - 2 = 3AP. You begin with 3AP with your new abilities. Since all the other specialist have 4AP. If you say you swap to rescue specialist. 3 Free movement AP. You gain that ability as well.

The problem arises when you change from say Rescue specialist 4AP to generalist 5AP. You carry over 2AP only. Since generalist do not have special abilities.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roger BW
United Kingdom
High Wycombe
Buckinghamshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think you may be over-complicating the AP thing.

When you crew change:

- you are now your new role, with its full complement of AP
- any saved AP are capped at 4 (this only matters if you're changing from the Rescue Dog)
- you spend 2AP to complete the change

So if you crew change to Generalist, you have 3AP plus whatever saved AP you carried over to use in the rest of the turn.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Ng
Singapore
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Firedrake wrote:
I think you may be over-complicating the AP thing.

When you crew change:

- you are now your new role, with its full complement of AP
- any saved AP are capped at 4 (this only matters if you're changing from the Rescue Dog)
- you spend 2AP to complete the change

So if you crew change to Generalist, you have 3AP plus whatever saved AP you carried over to use in the rest of the turn.


You are right. Sorry about the mistake earlier. I have striked out the mistake.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.