23 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Recommendations

Subject: D&D-esque game for three players, all new to the genre? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rawlyn Watson
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
A couple of friends and I have started getting into tabletop gaming after years of playing video games(in particular, RPGs or anything with multiplayer co-op) together.

We're all really keen to get back to our "RPG roots" and find a suitable entry point game. I guess the problem we're having is that it seems three players just isn't enough.

Is there such a thing as a decent roleplaying game (a la D&D) for a group this small? We don't mind if there's a learning curve, we're all willing to make that effort.

Apologies if this is a common question, or if I've got my terminology completely wrong - I'm new at this Thanks for your time.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul DeStefano
United States
Long Island
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
It's a Zendrum. www.zendrum.com
mbmbmbmbmb
You should head to RPGGeek if you are looking for an actual RPG.

Board games may have the same themes, but it's not quite the same as roleplaying.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Fong
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
for a board game, probably closest thing would be Lords of Waterdeep or Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)if you're looking for an RPG specifically, try RPGgeek

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
R H
United States
Bethany
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
EBWonder wrote:
for a board game, probably closest thing would be Lords of Waterdeep or Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)if you're looking for an RPG specifically, try RPGgeek

For a boardgame, Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition) is the way to go (for the swords/magic feel)