Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Garibaldi: The Escape» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can Garibaldi play a movement card that he can't use? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Richard Walter
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Last night we played Garibaldi for the first time in a while and an interesting question came up after the game was over.

During the game, Garibaldi played the event card that allowed him to choose the card that one of the patrols must use of their turn. He chose a card with a boat movement and that patrol had only a single possible move to make, since the space that it was on only had a single blue path.

At that point, we wondered what would happen if the Garibaldi player had chosen a card with a movement type that the patrol couldn't legally do. For example, choosing a boat movement card for a patrol that didn't have any blue paths on it. We assumed that the patrol would have to "play" that card, but not move.

Now, it turns out that later in the game, the Garibaldi player used a horse movement card during his turn, making the patrols think that he was on the move along a road. However, it turns out that Garibaldi was actually by the Southern coast and had only green & blue paths available to him. As a result, Garibaldi didn't move, based on the theory that "I played a movement card and would have moved on that type of path had one been available, but it wasn't so I didn't move."

What are people's opinions on this? Legal (and clever) move, or against the spirit of the rules?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Wagner
United States
Cleveland Hts.,
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Pretty much against the rules.

The English rules (from Essen 2007) state:

"The Garibaldi player may play 1 Movement card on its red side: Garibaldi will move using the movement type shown on the card."

Not "may move", not "bluff moving"; will move.

If you play a movement card that you cannot use, that is called a "discard" and is one of four things Garibaldi must/may do on his turn.

1. Advance the turn marker(this is the only Must). 2. Play a move card (and move). 3. Play an event card. 4. Discard cards and re-draw.

There is no "Play a move card and don't move" option.

The trick is to discard it face down so the Austrian player doesn't get to see it (and thus know what movement type is impossible for you to make.) Since you only have to show the Austrian players "movement cards" that are used to move, then this is allowed.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Walter
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks. Your explanation & logic make a lot of sense. We'll make sure that the Garibaldi player plays this way in the future.

-Richard
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.