Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Golden Wilderness» Forums » Rules

Subject: Missions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve Carey
United States
West Coast
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Q? If a mission is built on an empty tile, how does one show ownership (I presume ownership doesn't matter for a presidio since it protects everyone on its tile and each adjacent tile)?

Q? Can a mission be built in the desert (this would arise ownership issues since a settlement cannot be built on a desert tile)? Can a presidio be built in the desert?

Q? What value are missions when the ruling country is not Spain or Russia (I do see that building all missions is an end-game trigger)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Siebenthall
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Steve Carey wrote:
Q? If a mission is built on an empty tile, how does one show ownership (I presume ownership doesn't matter for a presidio since it protects everyone on its tile and each adjacent tile)?

Q? Can a mission be built in the desert (this would arise ownership issues since a settlement cannot be built on a desert tile)? Can a presidio be built in the desert?

Q? What value are missions when the ruling country is not Spain or Russia (I do see that building all missions is an end-game trigger)?


1. In my last game, I actually built a mission presidio in a space and did not settle the space. I just wanted it to protect and be fed by my adjacent settlements. Another player ended up settling it for some reason I cannot recall.

2. I don't know of any rules about missions in deserts, but since you cannot settle in the desert it would be a waste of one's resources unless to trigger the end game.

3. Haven't played the advanced game so cannot comment.

Edited #1 as I entered the wrong structure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Fatula
United States
Blue Tent
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
1. If a mission is built on an empty tile, it is unowned. I've seen this happen, where, as part of a deal, player A builds a mission on an unowned tile, then player B settles there.
2. A mission or presidio can be built in the desert. Presidios in the desert are still useful since they protect adjacent tiles. There's basically no reason you'd ever want to build a mission in the desert except...
3. Building all the missions does trigger the end of the game (next time Taxes is played).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.