United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
My background is in video games and for the last 5 years free-to-play and mobile games.

Something that is often a conversation in that space is derivative and copycat games which are essentially knockoffs. At the same time, we often talk about taking core, proven mechanics and using them as the basis for something new. You know, that whole "there are only 7 stories ever written" thing.

I don't think you see the knockoff type games quite as much in boardgames (i could be wrong), but as designers what do people see as derivative development? Where is the line drawn, etc?

Cheers!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Drew Hicks
United States
Raleigh
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Two words: worker placement.

In all seriousness, I think that it's less of an issue in board gaming because the stakes are lower and players are rabid omnivores. There are a few trends (worker placement, deckbuildr, werewolf with bells on) that are troubling but are nowhere near as toxic as in the video game arena. I heard someone say that AAA games aren't designed, just marketed. I think even the most derivative hobby game is designed, at least moreso than a Call of Duty reskin or a Match 3 clone.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eduardo Baraf
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
AnEvenWeirderMove wrote:
Two words: worker placement.

In all seriousness, I think that it's less of an issue in board gaming because the stakes are lower and players are rabid omnivores. There are a few trends (worker placement, deckbuildr, werewolf with bells on) that are troubling but are nowhere near as toxic as in the video game arena. I heard someone say that AAA games aren't designed, just marketed. I think even the most derivative hobby game is designed, at least moreso than a Call of Duty reskin or a Match 3 clone.