Hide
14 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Strategy

Subject: Overlord strategy desperately needed rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Feathered Scroll
msg tools
So I'm relatively new to Descent, I've played about 4 or 5 quests prior to now embarking on the basic campaign. I'm playing the OL versus 3 other players who are equally new to Descent.

Now, so far we have only played 2 quests but thus far they have completely curbstomped me. The heroes I am playing against are Alric (Disciple), Leoric(Necromancer) and Jain(Wildlander) now here's a breakdown on how these quests have gone thus far:

First Blood all heroes max their fatigue and attack my Ettin, Leoric attacks once then summons his familiar who also attacks my Ettin, Ettin dies in the first turn and the quest ends.

A Fat Goblin Encounter 1 I blocked the entrance with 3 barghests, but the heroes make swift work of 2/3 of them and then max their fatigue to rush past them and rush into the garden. At this point my Goblins are outside of the garden, the heroes have now stored 2/4 crops, I manage to steal one crop with my master Goblin but they kill him easily, another Goblin manages to pick up the fourth crop and I use my basic plot card and both of his move actions to get away with 1/4 crops.

A Fat Goblin Encounter 2 Alric takes his time to heal up his team mates, I block the door to the first room with 3 zombies, like previously they max their fatigue smash up their door and kill 2/3 zombies in one attack. Leoric then opens the 2nd door, uses his hero feat to kill my goblin archers stashed at the 2nd door. I find Fredrik at my 3rd attempt but the heroes are now in the hallway and I have only one gGoblin archer and Spligg left, the heroes now realizing that they have already won kill my last goblin archer and instead focus on looting the remaining search tokens. At this point I concede since I have only Spligg left and he is surrounded by the heroes.