Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Star Wars: X-Wing Miniatures Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Priority and shooting rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tom Debiec
Australia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Quick rule question

So when 2 ships with the same ps level shoot at each other they resolve the combat at the same time or the second ship gets to shoot back even if he dies.
But what happens when ship (A) PS4 shoots at Ship (B) PS4 but ship B shoots at a different target altogether.
Does ship B gets his shot even if it does get killed.
To me it sounds as yes because both shoot at the same time according to rules.

Any feedback appriciated.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonah Rees
Wales
Cardiff
South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am pretty sure you don't get to shoot at the same time. If you have equal pilot skill then whoever spent the least points gets initiative and if it's a draw then Imperials get initiative. So if ship (A) is PS4 and Imperial and shoots and kills ship (B) then the latter doesn't do anything as it's destroyed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris K.
Germany
Berlin
Berlin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jonahmaul wrote:
I am pretty sure you don't get to shoot at the same time. If you have equal pilot skill then whoever spent the least points gets initiative and if it's a draw then Imperials get initiative. So if ship (A) is PS4 and Imperial and shoots and kills ship (B) then the latter doesn't do anything as it's destroyed.


This is incorrect. There is a rule about simultaneous fire, which means ships firing with the same pilot skill.

The ship with initiative shoots first. The target suffers any damage resulting from this attack. Critical damage also takes effect immediately.

However the target, if it has the same pilot skill as the attacker, is not yet removed from the board. It is still there in all respects (game effects like Biggs or Howlrunner) keep working until the target itself has had its chance to attack. This attack does not have to target the original attacker. It can target any legal target on the board (In range and so on).
Only after that attack is it removed from the board.
17 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Montgomery
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Not quite. If a ship with an equal pilot skill is destroyed it gets to attack before being destroyed.

Page 16 of the rule book.

Quote:
Simultaneous attack rule
Although ships perform their attacks one at a time,ships with a pilot skill value equal to the active ship’s pilot skill value have the opportunity to attack before being destroyed. If such a ship would be destroyed, it simply retains its Damage cards without being removed from the play area. It may perform an attack as normal during the Combat phase, although any faceup Damage cards just dealt to it may affect this attack.

After this ship has had its opportunity to attack this round, it is immediately destroyed and removed from the play area.

Example:
Black Squadron Pilot (pilot skill “4”)
attacks Red Squadron Pilot (pilot skill “4”). From
this attack, Red Squadron Pilot suffers damage
equal to its hull value. Red Squadron Pilot will be
destroyed, but since it has the same pilot skill
as the active ship, it first has the opportunity to
resolve its combat steps. After Red Squadron
Pilot resolves its combat steps, it is destroyed and
removed from the play area.
11 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonah Rees
Wales
Cardiff
South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Wow, completely missed that! Thanks for the clarification folks, always helpful thumbsup
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Debiec
Australia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thank you all, that's what i thought but still wanted to be 100% sure
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J H
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Off topic:
jonahmaul wrote:
if it's a draw then Imperials get initiative.

This is technically true per the core rules, but I don't know anyone that doesn't go by tournament style initiative assignment.

With equal Squad Points, you can toss a coin (or use some other fair method like rolling dice) and winner gets to decide who has initiative. Otherwise, lowest points decides.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.