Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gabriel Forster
United States
South Lyon
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am a youth pastor and routinely am coming up with activities for teens. In the past, I have played "life-size" versions of board games and am looking for some new ideas.

What I am not looking for is "let's build the board game really really big," but a way to convert it into an activity. Generally, not where players move large pieces, but where players are the pieces in the world of the game. For example, in the past, we have done:

Monopoly - properties are at different families' actual houses. The bank was at the church. Teams travelled by vehicle (adult drivers) from house to house, etc. The game was timed and points were assigned for # of properties & amount of money to determine the winner.
Clue - Played in the church building. Adult volunteers dressed as different characters. Clues were placed throughout the building and different rooms were used as the rooms from the game.
(speed) Scrabble - Pizza box lids/cardboard pieces with letters on them. Teams worked together to run to the piles of "tiles" and spell words. It was very active.
(speed) Cootie - different stations w/dice that had to be rolled so that they could complete the puzzle. Instructions here.

I would love to get some modern games in there. I have some ideas for Settlers of Catan and Escape: Curse of the Temple but I'm looking for more. Pandemic may also work, but not having a clear view of the whole area might be an issue.

Thanks for any ideas!

Edit: added speed cootie link.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom S.
United States
Sykesville
MD
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've seen pictures of a giant King of Tokyo game that Iello brings to the cons that looks awesome. I know the youth at my church would love it.

Giant dice!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin Wertz
United States
Souderton
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb