Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game: Rise of the Runelords – Base Set» Forums » Rules

Subject: newbie questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James Garvey
United States
Williamsville
New York
flag msg tools
-if there are several players at a location when the henchman is killed, can they each take a try at closing the location

-wand of enervation: can you use it for someone else's combat check? do you have to be at their location?

Thanks,
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil McDonald
England
Staffordshire
UK
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. No, only the character on turn.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Warner
United States
Middletown
Delaware
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
garvoid wrote:
-if there are several players at a location when the henchman is killed, can they each take a try at closing the location

Just he player that defeats the henchman, and only if the henchman was from the location deck (not summoned).

Rulebook v3 p22 wrote:
No One Else Can Take Your Turn for You. Whenever you encounter a card or make a check, you—and only you—must resolve it...If Ezren defeats a henchman at the Sandpoint Cathedral, Seelah can’t discard a blessing to close the location. If the game tells you to do something, you have to do it.


So when it says "If defeated, you may immediately attempt to close this location" it means "you" the one that defeated it.

garvoid wrote:
-wand of enervation: can you use it for someone else's combat check? do you have to be at their location?


Yes, it works on any combat check. No, there is no limit on location.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marty McFly
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
garvoid wrote:
-if there are several players at a location when the henchman is killed, can they each take a try at closing the location

Henchmen have this text (emphasis mine): "If defeated, you may immediately attempt to close this location."

Generally speaking, when cards in PACG say "you" it means that only the person playing the card and/or making the check is affected. In the case of henchmen, the player who defeated the henchmen is the one who must make the subsequent closing check.

garvoid wrote:
-wand of enervation: can you use it for someone else's combat check? do you have to be at their location?

But some cards, like Wand of Enervation, say "...to a [something] check..." These cards can be used to affect any player's check. If it says "at your location," then that player must be at your location. If it says "at another location," then that player cannot be at your location. The Wand says neither, so the player can be anywhere.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Garvey
United States
Williamsville
New York
flag msg tools
How about if the villan is defeated and there are 2 character at a different location, do they both get to try and temporally close that location?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Warner
United States
Middletown
Delaware
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You try to temporarily close locations before you actually encounter the villain, but yes, if multiple characters are at the same location they can all take a turn trying to temporarily close the location. Only one of them needs to succeed.

Rulebook v3 p17 wrote:
When a player encounters the villain, each player at any other location may immediately attempt to fulfill the When Closing requirement for his location. If any player at a location succeeds, his location is temporarily closed and the villain cannot escape there this turn.


If it was meant that only 1 character asset each location could attempt it, it would say "one player at any other location may immediately..." But it says "each" player. Then it says "If any player at a location succeeds..." Again implying that there can be more than one player attempting it at a single location.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil McDonald
England
Staffordshire
UK
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
269Hawkmoon wrote:
You try to temporarily close locations before you actually encounter the villain, but yes, if multiple characters are at the same location they can all take a turn trying to temporarily close the location. Only one of them needs to succeed.

Rulebook v3 p17 wrote:
When a player encounters the villain, each player at any other location may immediately attempt to fulfill the When Closing requirement for his location. If any player at a location succeeds, his location is temporarily closed and the villain cannot escape there this turn.


If it was meant that only 1 character asset each location could attempt it, it would say "one player at any other location may immediately..." But it says "each" player. Then it says "If any player at a location succeeds..." Again implying that there can be more than one player attempting it at a single location.


But it doesn't imply that they try at the same time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robin Reeve
Switzerland
St-Légier
Vaud
flag msg tools
badge
Looking for a game session in Switzerland? Send me a pm!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
philmcd wrote:
But it doesn't imply that they try at the same time.
Sure. One tries and, if he fails, the other one tries, etc.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil McDonald
England
Staffordshire
UK
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Robin wrote:
philmcd wrote:
But it doesn't imply that they try at the same time.
Sure. One tries and, if he fails, the other one tries, etc.


They try on their own turn if there are no cards at the location.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kim Williams
United Kingdom
St Just
Cornwall
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
philmcd wrote:
Robin wrote:
philmcd wrote:
But it doesn't imply that they try at the same time.
Sure. One tries and, if he fails, the other one tries, etc.


They try on their own turn if there are no cards at the location.


No, they're talking about a temporary close, in response to somebody encountering the villain, which therefore takes place at that moment (the moment when someone has encountered the villain), rather than waiting for subsequent turns.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil McDonald
England
Staffordshire
UK
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
entwife wrote:
philmcd wrote:
Robin wrote:
philmcd wrote:
But it doesn't imply that they try at the same time.
Sure. One tries and, if he fails, the other one tries, etc.


They try on their own turn if there are no cards at the location.


No, they're talking about a temporary close, in response to somebody encountering the villain, which therefore takes place at that moment (the moment when someone has encountered the villain), rather than waiting for subsequent turns.


That's what I thought, and the answer is no, only the active character. If that fails you have to plough through the rest of the cards at the location or try as another character on their turn if there are no cards left.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Lawson
United Kingdom
Yateley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
philmcd wrote:
entwife wrote:
philmcd wrote:
Robin wrote:
philmcd wrote:
But it doesn't imply that they try at the same time.
Sure. One tries and, if he fails, the other one tries, etc.


They try on their own turn if there are no cards at the location.


No, they're talking about a temporary close, in response to somebody encountering the villain, which therefore takes place at that moment (the moment when someone has encountered the villain), rather than waiting for subsequent turns.


That's what I thought, and the answer is no, only the active character. If that fails you have to plough through the rest of the cards at the location or try as another character on their turn if there are no cards left.

It appears you are under some misunderstanding here.

You seem to be thinking about what happens when someone wants to permanently close a location.

The discussion here is what happens when a location is temporarily closed.

Please re-read the above posts again because you are off track to the actual discussion (either that or you have misunderstood the rules for temporarily closing locations).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil McDonald
England
Staffordshire
UK
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
xris wrote:
philmcd wrote:
entwife wrote:
philmcd wrote:
Robin wrote:
philmcd wrote:
But it doesn't imply that they try at the same time.
Sure. One tries and, if he fails, the other one tries, etc.


They try on their own turn if there are no cards at the location.


No, they're talking about a temporary close, in response to somebody encountering the villain, which therefore takes place at that moment (the moment when someone has encountered the villain), rather than waiting for subsequent turns.


That's what I thought, and the answer is no, only the active character. If that fails you have to plough through the rest of the cards at the location or try as another character on their turn if there are no cards left.

It appears you are under some misunderstanding here.

You seem to be thinking about what happens when someone wants to permanently close a location.

The discussion here is what happens when a location is temporarily closed.

Please re-read the above posts again because you are off track to the actual discussion (either that or you have misunderstood the rules for temporarily closing locations).


Sorry, yes, I was thinking of permanently closing blush
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.