Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Progress: Evolution of Technology» Forums » Rules

Subject: How immediately does a game end? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ian Heath
United Kingdom
Fareham
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules say that the game ends immediately as soon as there are enough Age IV symbols in the player areas. Does this mean the player looses the rest of their actions for their current turn?

In our last game someone managed to hit the Age IV symbol count by finishing the research on a card. We played it so that the game ended right then and the player, who was a bit miffed, lost all their actions.

If we played it correctly it opens some interesting strategies...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Lawson
United Kingdom
Yateley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
drGrov wrote:
The rules say that the game ends immediately as soon as there are enough Age IV symbols in the player areas. Does this mean the player looses the rest of their actions for their current turn?

In our last game someone managed to hit the Age IV symbol count by finishing the research on a card. We played it so that the game ended right then and the player, who was a bit miffed, lost all their actions.

If we played it correctly it opens some interesting strategies...

I don't know what the designer's intent was but I think that from the rules as written "immediately" means "immediately".

So if a card with the Age IV icon had completed the research time and the last cube was removed from the card, then that might trigger the end of the game (depending how many other Age IV icons are out). The current player would not get to perform any actions at all.

Rules as written, the active player couldn't even take back that card into their hand because you can only do that at the end of the Development Phase. By then it's too late, the card has already become an active Technology.

Page 4 of the rules, Development Phase wrote:
At the end of the Development Phase, the active player
may take back in her hand any or all of her Technologies
under Development.


Page 6 of the rules, The End of the Game wrote:
As soon as enough Age IV symbols are present in the
player areas, Age III ends and the game ends immediately.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daryl Unwin
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Agree with Chris.

If they hadn't intended to end the game they should have taken it off the table in the previous round.

I'm pretty sure the intention is immediately means immediately.
For example: it's the same when you gain an extra action - you have it to use immediately.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Schadt
United States
Glenshaw
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Geremiah wrote:
If they hadn't intended to end the game they should have taken it off the table in the previous round.
That wouldn't necessarily have been evident in the previous round. If people did Discover actions and put out one or more Age-up cards in the intervening round, the player in question might not have had any opportunity to prevent it.
2 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin B. Smith
United States
Lake Forest Park
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
drGrov wrote:
The rules say that the game ends immediately as soon as there are enough Age IV symbols in the player areas. Does this mean the player looses the rest of their actions for their current turn?

Yes, according to one of the designers, in this different but presumably comparable situation: Re: End of age trigger - no cards of that age - instant, end of action, or end of turn?
Andrei Novac wrote:
This ends the age with the current action (since actions cannot be split into smaller entities).

So, for example, at the end of your first action you end up no cards in the deck and no cards in the discard of the current age, you start next age automatically. If this was the last age, the game simply ends.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.