Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Cathedral» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Peterson
United States
Eagan
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules are quite brief and I don't know if we are overthinking it but we are wondering if we are playing it correctly.

1) must a player place a piece touching a side of their own color piece?

2) is the dark player required to play the first piece touching the cathedral?

3) when a piece is removed by being enclosed does it return to that player to be played again later?

Thanks for the help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Billy McBoatface
United States
Lexington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
KGS is the #1 web site for playing go over the internet. Visit now!
badge
Yes, I really am that awesome.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Nope. Put a piece anywhere you want, except for inside your opponent's territory.

2. No.

3. Yes.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Peterson
United States
Eagan
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, one more question about creating an "enclosure" by going wall to wall.... Can a player go from one wall straight across to another wall thereby claiming half the board or only use two edges of the board taking a corner?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Billy McBoatface
United States
Lexington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
KGS is the #1 web site for playing go over the internet. Visit now!
badge
Yes, I really am that awesome.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Enclosures can be as big as you want, as long as only one piece other than yours is present. For example, if your second piece squeezes the cathedral and your opponent's first place into a tiny corner, then the rest of the board is yours!

One obvious exception - a player's first piece does not kill the cathedral and take over the whole board. It wouldn't be much of a game if that happened.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Peterson
United States
Eagan
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the help!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Giant
United States
Douglas
Alaska
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Today my wife made it wall to wall. The smaller side was contested. The larger side had just of my piece. Would she get the larger side?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Billy McBoatface
United States
Lexington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
KGS is the #1 web site for playing go over the internet. Visit now!
badge
Yes, I really am that awesome.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, if the larger side had one of your piece and no cathedral, then it is all hers.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.