Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Advanced Squad Leader: Starter Kit #2» Forums » Rules

Subject: FFMO/FFNAM Applicability rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Daniel Kaufman
United States
Rosemead
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
An MMC First Fires on a moving MMC and is eligible for both FFMO and FFNAM DMs. Would the MMC continue to get FFMO/FFNAM if:

1) The firing MMC's SW retained ROF and it fires again at the moving MMC if the moving MMC throws smoke after it survives the attack described above?

2) The firing MMC Subsequent First Fires on the same moving MMC when the enemy MMC continues to move (he survived the first attacks and moved into an Open Ground hex without LOS hindrance).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Roundhill
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmb
kaufmad wrote:
An MMC First Fires on a moving MMC and is eligible for both FFMO and FFNAM DMs. Would the MMC continue to get FFMO/FFNAM if:

1) The firing MMC's SW retained ROF and it fires again at the moving MMC if the moving MMC throws smoke after it survives the attack described above?

2) The firing MMC Subsequent First Fires on the same moving MMC when the enemy MMC continues to move (he survived the first attacks and moved into an Open Ground hex without LOS hindrance).



1) FFNAM, but not FFMO because the smoke would create a non Open Ground situation.

2) Yes.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M. van H.
Netherlands
Utrecht
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Elaborating on question 1 (on which Roundhill is right), I think that the only way to avoid being susceptible to the FFNAM DRM when throwing Smoke with a MMC is declaring Assault Movement for that MMC before moving or throwing Smoke. You can then attempt to throw Smoke without the FFNAM DRM (and move a maximum of 1 hex), or move a maximum of 1 hex and attempt to throw Smoke, also without the FFNAM DRM. Either way, you must declare Assault Movement with a unit before doing anything else with it in order to avoid the FFNAM DRM.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robin Reeve
Switzerland
St-Légier
Vaud
flag msg tools
badge
Looking for a game session in Switzerland? Send me a pm!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Houtje wrote:
Elaborating on question 1 (on which Roundhill is right), I think that the only way to avoid being susceptible to the FFNAM DRM when throwing Smoke with a MMC is declaring Assault Movement for that MMC before moving or throwing Smoke. You can then attempt to throw Smoke without the FFNAM DRM (and move a maximum of 1 hex), or move a maximum of 1 hex and attempt to throw Smoke, also without the FFNAM DRM. Either way, you must declare Assault Movement with a unit before doing anything else with it in order to avoid the FFNAM DRM.
If not accompanied by a leader, the squad could not enter the smoke it placed and be non assault moving, because placing smoke in an adjacent hex costs 2MF and entering a smoke filled hex costs +1 MF, which makes a minimum of 2MF if Open Ground.
So that would be a total of 4MF - the entire unit's MF allotment (which precludes AM), if a leader is not providing the bonus 2 MF.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Siege_of_Barcelona_(1713–14)
badge
https://spanishpolice.github.io
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Without the leader bonus you could first declare Assault Movement, then throw smoke in your own hex (1 MF) and then move one hex spending 1 or 2 MF (for a maximum of 3 MF) to a place where the enemy LOS crosses the smoke. This way you avoid both FFNAM and FFMO.

Of course, usually you want to throw smoke to close with the enemy, not to go away, but sometimes it can be useful.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Kaufman
United States
Rosemead
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks! As for for #1, I guess the assumption is being made that the smoke was successful and the MMC wanted to move into that hex.

Could the FFMO/FFNAM ever be applicable for a Final Fire?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M. van H.
Netherlands
Utrecht
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Attempting to place Smoke involves expending MF and allows defensive fire whether the attempt was successful or not. Without declaring Assault Movement, the unit placing Smoke is susceptible to the FFNAM DRM when attempting to place Smoke and/or when moving; when declaring Assault Movement, however, the FFNAM DRM does not apply to either attempting to place Smoke or moving (but only 1 hex may be moved).

Final Fire: see rulebook 3.4: "FFNAM and FFMO do not apply."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robin Reeve
Switzerland
St-Légier
Vaud
flag msg tools
badge
Looking for a game session in Switzerland? Send me a pm!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kaufmad wrote:
Could the FFMO/FFNAM ever be applicable for a Final Fire?
Of course not, as "FF" stands for "First Fire".
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Kaufman
United States
Rosemead
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Of course not, as "FF" stands for "First Fire". ;)


Yes, but it applies to Intensive Fire.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M. van H.
Netherlands
Utrecht
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That depends: FFNAM may apply to Intensive Fire in so far as it is part of Defensive First Fire (so during the Mph). It does not apply to IF fired in the DFPh.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.