Popular Tags: [View All]
Bob Long
United States
Woodbridge
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello war gamers

In prior years as a G/T teacher in a middle school in VA,I have offered an after school game club. I will toot my own horn here and say that I also offer an intro to board game class that the students really enjoy. My students have play tested games for Academy games and VPG. (Shout out to Uwe at Academy, Alan at VPG, and the staff at GMT as well as Randy at Legion and DoW for their help )

So, this year instead of offering our after school game club. I would offer a war game club. But here is the kicker...what to call the club and still be politically correct and not offend any parents or not to drive away any potential students from entering this exciting world of war games?

Again, this is a middle school and most of the students that join are accelerated students that enjoy family/Euro designs. Since my background is in social studies/history, I wanted to teach a little history especially Napoleonic/AWoI history. So, I picked up C and C Nap, Nap War through some trades and own Hold the Line, Wash War and a few other games on this period. I also picked up via a great deal from DoW some Memoir 44 stuff. Thanks to all you folks out there that has given me this wonderful opportunity to teach history by gaming it out.

So, now looking for club suggestions as well as any info or ideas that would help make this club better than the last game clubs I have offered. We don't get any funding so this limits the ideas to "stuff" that I can do for basically free.

What name would be great for a club that offers this kind of gaming?

Thanks again for your support and contributions
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill the Pill
United States
Oneonta
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Historical Simulations Game Club
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Ladson
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote: