Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Star Wars: X-Wing Miniatures Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Sensor Jammer vs Han + Gunner rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Neil, the Tusken Tactician
England
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Please help resolve a discussion that's being had without access to rules or FAQs.

How does Sensor Jammer work against something like Han + Gunner where Han can reroll dice? Is it...

1:
Han rolls and Sensor Jammer changes a hit to an eye. Han decides he no longer likes that roll (let's say he has no focus token) so he rerolls (obviously all but the changed roll). The target with Sensor Jammer changes another hit to an eye. The target successfully evades the shot.
Han activates Gunner and rolls dice. The target changes a hit to an eye. Han doesn't like the roll much so he rerolls (all but the die that cannot be rerolled) and then Sensor Jammer changes another hit to an eye.

2: Han rolls dice and decides whether or not he likes them. The target with Sensor Jammer cannot touch teh dice yet. Han doesn't like them and so he rerolls. Then Sensor Jammer kicks in and changes a hit to an eye. The target evades so Gunner kicks in and he rolls dice again. The target with Sensor Jammer cannot touch them yet. He decides that he doesn't like the roll so he rolls again. Then Sensor Jammer kicks in and changes an eye to a hit.

In (1), Sensor Jammer activates four times and in (2) it activates twice.

Thanks in advance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Emerick
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
Both of your versions are incorrect. Sensor Jammer takes place during the Modify Attack Dice Step of the combat procedure (Rulebook, Pg 11). The correct sequence is:

Han rolls his attack dice.

Defender modifies attack dice BEFORE attacker modifies attack dice using Sensor Jammer, turning one hit to a Focus.

Han then chooses to reroll all his attack dice (except the dice modified by Sensor Jammer). After the re-roll, Sensor Jammer may NOT be used again because the Defender has already modified dice during this attack.

Defender roll defense dice. Han misses, Gunner activates.

The Gunner is a new attack so the steps repeat. Again, Sensor Jammer my only be used once during the Modify Attack Dice step. It cannot be used again after Han re-rolls his dice.

And no, you may not wait and use your Sensor Jammer after Han has used his re-roll because at that point, the opportunity for the Defender to modify attack dice has passed for that attack. Rules are clear that Defender modifies attack dice first and FAQ has confurmed that re-rolls are a modification (FAQ ruling on Heavy Laser Cannon).

Jim

7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil, the Tusken Tactician
England
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J H
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Core Rules, p11:
"If the attacker and defender both have abilities that can modify attack dice, the defender resolves all of his abilities before the attacker."
Emphasis theirs.

Core Rules, p12 inlay: Modifying Dice Results.

Sensor Jammer can activate for each attack from Gunner (or Cluster, etc.), but it's before the attacker modifies.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil, the Tusken Tactician
England
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to check

Han roll
Sensor Jammer modifies a hit to an eye.
Han doesn't like so rerolls, except he keeps the eye
No Sensor Jammer again
Han focuses and hits quite hard.

So Sensor Jammer really isn't that good against Han, is it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Emerick
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
Sensor Jammer is fine against Han if you can block him with other ships, forcing him to overlap to prevent him taking an action to gain a focus token. But yes, if the target has a focus token, it's not great.

Jim
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J H
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
You get more from SJ if Gunner activates because you evaded the first attack (and likely made him spend his focus, if he had one). But he gets more worth from Gunner if you make it trigger...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guido Gloor
Switzerland
Ostermundigen
Bern
flag msg tools
The statement below is false.
badge
The statement above is correct.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Isn't the dice that is turned to an eye also rerolled? Dice can't be rerolled more than once, but they can be modified more than once, and being modified shouldn't stop them from being rerolled?

Scratch that, card effect remembering fail. Sensor Jammer says that "the attacker cannot reroll the die with the changed result".

(Yes, Sensor Jammer isn't good against those who Focus a lot anyway.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J H
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Core rules, p12, Modifying Dice Results inset:
"Important: When a die is changed
or rerolled, ignore its original result
and apply only the new result. This
new result may be modified by other
effects; however, a die that has
already been rerolled cannot be
rerolled again during this attack
."
Emphasis mine.

Edit: he edited above, so... enjoy the hot, gratuitous quote.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas Kr├╝ger
Germany
Krefeld
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually, I think certain Han configurations are one of the few cases where SJ actually does something good...

The Falcon title + C3PO is very powerful but needs the evade action every round (for 2 guaranteed evades), so he will frequently not have a focus. The modified die cannot be rerolled, so Han's ability is not fully available.

Also, Han has a high PS, so he must decide quite early whether to use the focus for offense. He will not know yet whether he will be shot and how often, so the SJ forces him into a decision.


Edit: Oh, and Han is expensive which means you don't have many targets besides him, so losing the focus is also bad for him.

Compare that to SJ against a 7 Tie swarm. They fire late and most of them will still have their focus anyway, so the SJ should not bother them much.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Hurp
United Kingdom
Aldershot
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My "Jam Sandwich" squad, based around 2x Blue + SenJam took me to 10-1 in AoIA tournaments, by maximising the efficiency of my actions and reducing the effectiveness of my opponents focusing.
It's not doing anything sexy, just passively making the opponents attacks or actions less efficient.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.