Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Diplomacy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stink fist
Canada
Alaska
flag msg tools
mb
Just need clarification on a ruling please.

My question is with the German Army in Ruhr being involved in conflict in Ruhr because they couldn't move into Belgium do they cut the support of Belgium into Ruhr? Or more simply put does the French Army from Burgundy take Ruhr in this scenario?

Map here: http://i.imgur.com/MiEtlQT.jpg Orders below.

*French Army Burgundy to Ruhr
*French Army Belgium support French Army to Ruhr
*French Army Picardy Support French Army Belgium
*French Army Paris to Burgundy
*French Army Marseilles support French Army Paris to Burgundy

*German Army Ruhr to Belgium
*German Fleet Holland support German Army to Belgium.
*German Army Munich to Burgundy
*German Army Kiel to Berlin
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ɹǝsɐɹɟ
Australia
Melbourne
flag msg tools
admin
designer
Back in the days when there were less maps we played every map back to back
badge
Ooh a little higher, now a bit to the left, a little more, a little more, just a bit more. Oooh yes, that's the spot!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A Ruh -> Bel bounces 2:2 due to support from Pic

You cannot cut support of an attack on yourself, so Ruh -> Bel technically does not cut the support of Bel Sup Bur -> Ruh.

Thus A Bur -> Ruh succeeds.

Ruh would have to retreat to Kie .
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stink fist
Canada
Alaska
flag msg tools
mb
That makes sense. Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stink fist
Canada
Alaska
flag msg tools
mb
Would it matter if the attack on Belgium had overwhelming support (and therefore would seem to be in a position to displace it), or does the amount of support not matter if the main unit being attacked is trying to attack one of the armies ganging up on it?

My own feeling on this is that you should only be able to cut 'support' from a province being attacked if you have the strength to actually displace it (because of added outside support).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ɹǝsɐɹɟ
Australia
Melbourne
flag msg tools
admin
designer
Back in the days when there were less maps we played every map back to back
badge
Ooh a little higher, now a bit to the left, a little more, a little more, just a bit more. Oooh yes, that's the spot!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You cannot cut support of an attack on yourself. End of story. It doesn't matter how much support the attack has or what the outcome is, the support of the attack on you is not cut.

If the attack (on Belgium in this case) had come from somewhere else, then it is entirely a different matter.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.