Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
15 Posts

Sentinels of the Multiverse» Forums » Rules

Subject: What if 2 cards change the type of damage rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
toriano toriano
msg tools
If "Imbued fire"(Ra) and "Irradiated ciclohexane VAT"(Pike industrial)two times maybe, are at the same point in game?

The heros select the order their damage dealed is increased?is it right?

In the previous Ex.: a hero could first select a damage instance change to fire type increase it by 1 and second change the amount to toxic due "Irradiated ciclohexane VAT" and increase the total another time?

Any rules in that example?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roberta Yang
msg tools
The heroes select the order in which the effects apply, so the final damage type can be either fire or toxic. However, conditional modifiers like the +1 from Imbued Fire don't apply if the final damage doesn't satisfy their conditions. So if you decide that the damage dealt will ultimately be toxic damage, the +1 bonus from Imbued Fire goes away because it's not fire damage anymore.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Curtis
United States
Andrews
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
salty53 wrote:
The heroes select the order in which the effects apply, so the final damage type can be either fire or toxic. However, conditional modifiers like the +1 from Imbued Fire don't apply if the final damage doesn't satisfy their conditions. So if you decide that the damage dealt will ultimately be toxic damage, the +1 bonus from Imbued Fire goes away because it's not fire damage anymore.


Hmmm. The players can choose the order of the effects? I always thought that effects are resolved in the order they were played. This would mean that the last one played over-writes all the others.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bern Harkins
United States
Buffalo
New York
flag msg tools
Do the right thing. It's usually obvious.
badge
I Has a Stick! A Tiny Green Stick!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Odysseus3 wrote:
Hmmm. The players can choose the order of the effects? I always thought that effects are resolved in the order they were played. This would mean that the last one played over-writes all the others.


This was the rule at one point in time, but it was unwieldy and hard to implement. >Games changed it a while back, so players now choose, EXCEPT in the case of Start of Turn and End of Turn effects, which are still resolved in the order they were played.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vadim Golembo
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I do believe you are correct, that effects are resolve in the order they were played or activated.

Edit: hmmm...choosing resolution in a coop also sounds reasonable.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew M
United States
New Haven
Connecticut
flag msg tools
admin
8/8 FREE, PROTECTED
badge
513ers Assemble!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
N0mE wrote:
I do believe you are correct, that effects are resolve in the order they were played or activated.


As Radulla points out, this was the rule but has since been changed.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Curtis
United States
Andrews
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Radulla wrote:
Odysseus3 wrote:
Hmmm. The players can choose the order of the effects? I always thought that effects are resolved in the order they were played. This would mean that the last one played over-writes all the others.


This was the rule at one point in time, but it was unwieldy and hard to implement. >Games changed it a while back, so players now choose, EXCEPT in the case of Start of Turn and End of Turn effects, which are still resolved in the order they were played.


Ah. Got it... choice during the Powers step (and Play a Card step)... but during Start of Turn and End of Turn you have to resolve in the order played. That's not as big of a deal then (it was the End of Turn or Start of Turn stuff during the Environment and Villain turn that I was thinking of).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew M
United States
New Haven
Connecticut
flag msg tools
admin
8/8 FREE, PROTECTED
badge
513ers Assemble!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah. The main issue was stuff like Damage Type changing, which could have cards from multiple different decks all coming into play. Tracking the order cards came into play in those instances is far trickier than simply going down the line for cards that all came from one deck.

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roberta Yang
msg tools
In addition to being hard to track, the old rule also lead to feelbad situations where cards like Otherworldly Resilience (damage taken -1) would end up preventing the effect of cards like Shielding Winds (damage taken -2 but only when 5+ damage would be dealt) if you played them in the wrong order.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Rob
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Villain card BoT/EoT powers going first before any other villain cards, correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Everything between now and the next game is just killing time
England
London
Agitation
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Odysseus3 wrote:
Ah. Got it... choice during the Powers step (and Play a Card step)... but during Start of Turn and End of Turn you have to resolve in the order played.

Not quiet.
Things that trigger because it is the Start of Turn or End of Turn are resolved in the order they came into play but effects that modify stuff during the start or end of turn are still player choice.

Example
Omnitron has had several turns and has played an Electro-Magnetic Railgun, a Disintegration Ray and an Electro-Pulse Explosive.

Omntiron Flips first (because the Villain Character Card is always the first Villain Card in play).
Next the Electro-Magnetic Railgun will shoot heroes.
Then the Disintegration Ray will pew pew the heroes.
Finally the Electro-Pulse Explosive will explode on the heroes.

The heroes have played (in this order) Fortitude and Shielding Winds.
When it gets to the Disintegration Ray Legacy is targeted and now the heroes have choices.
Legacy is hit for 5 points of damage from the Disintegration Ray
The heroes can choose for Shielding Winds to reduce the damage first and then Fortitude despite the order they were played in.
If they were forced to do it the other way around then Fortitude would make the damage less than 5, and the damage would not longer meet Shielding Winds' trigger.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
toriano toriano
msg tools
Thank you very much for all.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle S.
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
https://greaterthangames.com/forum/topic/timing-and-order-of...

Above is a link to the most current Order of Operations ruling regarding this topic.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Crow
United States
St. Peters
Missouri
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So Imbued Fire and CQC ... do the Heroes choose Fire or Melee for whole round, affecting all of them, or does each Hero decide which one takes effect last?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Everything between now and the next game is just killing time
England
London
Agitation
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I will answer you where ever you post!

Hero choice, each hero picks individually for each instance of damage they deal. Anything that does not say "At the start of the turn" or "At the end of the turn" is hero choice. X of turn things happen in the order they entered play.



See here for confirmation/clarification
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.