BoardGameGeek» Forums » Introduction » New User Questions

Subject: Multiple Publishers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Suhada Roughley
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
I'm new to BGG
I wanted to work out who published "Ingenious".
If I look a the Ingenious page it shows about 20 publishers.
I would perhaps have expected a few if the game had been published by one and then another publisher but 20!
I thought it was usual that a game would usually only be published by one publisher.
Can anyone explain?
Thanks
Suhada

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Fong
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There are a few reasons for this (and more i can't think of):
1) Different regions - each region may have it's own publication branch.
2) As you mentioned, a new publisher.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Suhada Roughley
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Thanks Brian.
So I presume the fact that Ingenious has 20 publishers means there's a pretty big selling network going on worldwide.
Is it likely that
(a) The Game Designer has a contract with just one of the publishers who then sub-contracts rights to other publishers or
(b) will the designer have contracts with all the publishers or
(c) do these things vary?

If it's (a) then is there a way of telling who the main publisher is?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Suhada Roughley
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
By going to the UK IPO website I worked out that "Sophisticated Games" owns the Trademark in the UK.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Walt
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
Before terraforming Mars, Surviving Mars is required: Paradox Interactive; Steam.
badge
Please contact me about board gaming in Orange County.
mbmbmbmbmb