Subject: Publishing games rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Suhada Roughley
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
I'm new to game design.
I have designed a game.
The game is a two-player abstract strategy game which includes placing wooden blocks. Can learn in 5 minutes and play in 20 minutes.
Age 10+ Maybe 8+

I have a good prototype.
I've done quiet a bit of playtesting - received well.
Rules are clear.
Just working on a concept note/selling page document.

I'm now looking at different publishers and not sure which to approach.

I live in the UK - In Bristol.

I quite like the look of Gigamic as they have some wooden two-player abstract strategy games so I presume they would find the manufacture and marketing similar.

Q1 Has anyone ever published (or tried to!) a game with Gigamic and if so what was your experience like?

I live in the UK and Gigamic are in France so.
So also a more general question:
Q2 Has anyone living in the UK published (or tried to!)a game with any publisher in Europe and if so what was it like to do that from across the channel?

Answers to these questions or any other related thoughts/advice appreciated.

Thanks
Suhada

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hamish Sterling
Australia
Cairns
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Have you looked into self publishing the game and how much that would cost?

Are there many components, board etc.

Why not, if feasible, look at doing a small run and selling yourself....better return for your efforts

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Suhada Roughley
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
I did initially wonder about self-publishing. I'm not sure I want to get into running production/marketing/IP - think I'm probably better placed to design.
However the game is simple: 40 cuboid wooden blocks, box with variation which makes it double as a board and one A4 sheet of rules - do you know how I'd go about finding manufacturers/getting quotes - if I did decide to explore that option?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide