Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Shadowrift» Forums » Rules

Subject: Discard effects...do they target cards that are played in front of you? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve Darlington
msg tools
designer
mb
ie do Skills and Loot count as cards in your hand when you are forced to discard?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Shepherd-Jones
United Kingdom
Walton on Thames
Surrey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
SteveD20 wrote:
ie do Skills and Loot count as cards in your hand when you are forced to discard?


Cards drawn to hand at the start of the turn are cards in hand. Cards in front of you played in previous turns do not count as being in hand and do not count when asked to discard cards from hand.

Does this clarify for you? meeple
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Anderson
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Cards that don't specify "discard from in play" are referring only to cards in hand. So if a card forces you to discard a Spell, you aren't required to discard the Holy Aura you played last turn.
You also aren't allowed to discard it instead of some other Spell you have in hand.

Meanwhile, cards like Curious Drake specify that you're discarding from in play, so you can't discard Loot cards in hand to avoid the effect.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Darlington
msg tools
designer
mb
Thanks, got it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.