Popular Tags: [View All]
Derek
United States
Greencastle
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
The front page says the appropriate sleeves for the small cards are either Fantasy Flight Mini American Board Game sleeves or Mayday Mini Chimera sleeves.

My concern: The 2 types of sleeves listed are not the same size. FF sleeves are 41 x 63. Mayday sleeves are 43 x 65. Am I missing something here?

FYI - I bought the Mayday Mini USA Premium sleeves (which I believe are correct at 41 x 63). I am very happy with them.

I can't imagine any way FF is wrong on the size. I am new to BGG. Who would update this information? Am I missing something and I am actually incorrect?

Thanks.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
secoAce -
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The difference is because most other sleeve brands measures the size of the sleeve while FFG measures the internal size of the card that the sleeve fits, which is why it seems like FFG's sleeve sizes are smaller than the standard size names.

If you measure the actual card size of Eldritch Horror's small card size, it's exactly 41mm x 63mm.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derek
United States
Greencastle
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
So do my Mayday sleeves fit incorrectly and I just didn't realize it?

P.S. This is a legitimate question. (First game I've sleeved)

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mik Svellov
Denmark
Copenhagen N
EU
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
SecoAce gave you the correct answer - you just didn't realise it.

FFG would not make sleeves than didn't fit their own cards.
Mayday Games makes less expensive alternatives - don't expect the same tight fit. Some cards in a batch will be too tight, others a little lose. But even if you cannot use all the Mayday cards they still give good value for the money paid.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Bauer
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
din0derek wrote:
So do my Mayday sleeves fit incorrectly and I just didn't realize it?