Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Amid The Ashes» Forums » Rules

Subject: 3 rules questions... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Evan Griffiths
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So we played a 4 player game of AMID THE ASHES the other night, and three situations came up that didn't seem to be covered clearly by the rules.

1 - If a unit is moved onto a space where there is a mutant, does combat with the mutant take place in the combat phase, or at the beginning of the next turn (in the "fight mutants" phase) if the mutant is still in the same space?

We decided to play that combat takes place in the combat phase because otherwise it would be possible to move into a space with a mutant and then move it away from yourself in the "mutant movement phase" - and this didn't feel right.

2 - In the combat phase how is ammo spent? Do players role dice then go back and forth spending ammo until there is a winner? Do players commit before a dice role how much ammo they are going to use?

We decided that both players in a space should role dice first, then the attacker would commit how much ammo they would spend, the defender would then have a choice whether to use up ammo (if they have enough) to win the fight - or to lose that battle and save their ammo for a future combat.

3 - Is it possible to complete a mission when another player is already occupying a landmark building? Because the action phase occurs before the combat phase, according to the rules it is possible to use a move action to move onto a building that another player is already on, and then use another action to complete a mission and return your units to the bunker before any combat happens. The rules do not state that to complete a mission the landmark building must be free of other players or mutants.

This was the most contentious issue for us on the evening. As the situation came up in the last part of the game, 2 players thought that missions could be completed without combat - justifying that thematically this represented the units sneaking on to the space and running away. The other 2 players felt that this didn't seem right and combat should take place - thinking that a player should be in full control of the space to be able to complete the mission. In the end, as the game had been quite long, we decided on the first option - but this did lead to some disgruntlement from 2 of the players as they said they would have played with different tactics from the start if they had realised this.

I'd be very interested to hear from any other players what their views on these 3 issues are!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan Griffiths
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I sent an email including the above questions to Phillip the designer, and here is his response:

Thanks very much for playing the game! I hope the lack of clarity in certain rules didn’t spoil it for you.
I’m making alterations to the rules based on feedback and questions that I have received. These revised rules will eventually be available (free, of course) via my Solo Endeavour site.

In answer to your specific questions:

1 – Phase One of gameplay (“Fight Mutants”) is for the resolution of encounters that may have occurred outside of your turn, when opposing players move mutants onto a tile occupied by your units. Combat that you initiate yourself, by moving your units onto a tile occupied by mutants/opposing units, is resolved during Phase 6 (“Combat”).

2 – Ammo in combat is added after both attacking and defending dice are rolled. Ammo can continue to be added to a roll that round until one side wins or there is a draw.

3 – A tile that is occupied by two (or more) parties is contested; no one holds it. You cannot claim it (or use it) unless only your units occupy it. This means that, in order to complete a mission, you must occupy and hold key structures until your next turn.


- PMJ
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.