Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Magnum Opus» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
A B
msg tools
mbmbmb
Quote:
locates the focus of his experiment on the Discovery Matrix...

-How does one go to the row/column position, at a success transmutation roll for an experiment, on the Discovery Matrix? Is the row/column number written on the cards or determined by the dice?

-When you take the Master Tradeskill roll, all other requirements on that Master Tradeskill being Met, is this identical in rules or game text terms to a "transmutation roll"? Or not?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Murphy
Australia
Pyrmont
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Zachary1234 wrote:
Quote:
locates the focus of his experiment on the Discovery Matrix...

-How does one go to the row/column position, at a success transmutation roll for an experiment, on the Discovery Matrix? Is the row/column number written on the cards or determined by the dice?

Your reagent cards should be laid out with the regular components along one side and the mystical along an adjacent side with each pile lined up with a row or column of discovery cards.

One mystic and one regular component are the coordinates of the discovery card that your basic transmutation roll effects (you can look up the matching row and column to find the card)
Quote:


-When you take the Master Tradeskill roll, all other requirements on that Master Tradeskill being Met, is this identical in rules or game text terms to a "transmutation roll"? Or not?


It is not. This is covered near the front of the rulebook. The roll for a Master Tradeskill can't be modified with table cards or experience tokens and you don't get an experience token if you fail to meet it. The good news is that you get the bonus card draws regardless, the roll is only for the gold.

B>
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A B
msg tools
mbmbmb
-Are the cards used in the starting hand marked as initial starting hand cards, or do you just have to go through and find them (or have them prepared and leave them in the box together)?

Quote:
One mystic and one regular component are the coordinates of the discovery card that your basic transmutation roll effects (you can look up the matching row and column to find the card)


Whereabouts are the 1-4 numbers on those cards? When I do a successful transmutation, the cards I have used are not adjacent to the Discovery Matrix anymore, with them being from hand.

-Is it the volatility number? Is it the cost number? Or what else?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Murphy
Australia
Pyrmont
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Zachary1234 wrote:
-Are the cards used in the starting hand marked as initial starting hand cards, or do you just have to go through and find them (or have them prepared and leave them in the box together)?

Quote:
One mystic and one regular component are the coordinates of the discovery card that your basic transmutation roll effects (you can look up the matching row and column to find the card)


Whereabouts are the 1-4 numbers on those cards? When I do a successful transmutation, the cards I have used are not adjacent to the Discovery Matrix anymore, with them being from hand.

-Is it the volatility number? Is it the cost number? Or what else?



It's the volatility number, the sum of those is your target for the transmutation dice roll which tells you if your transmutation succeeds.

The piles the cards came from should still be in place at the sides of the matrix as buying all the reagents of a type is suicidal, so they expect people mostly won't do it (and will aggressively sell out unneeded reagents to avoid them turning up again in following draws)

So, find the piles your two reagents came from, follow the row or column next to them and where they cross is the relevant discovery card. You will always need one standard and one mystic reagent and you should have carefully arranges all the standards along one edge and all the mystics along an adjacent edge.

B>
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Murphy
Australia
Pyrmont
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Zachary1234 wrote:
-Are the cards used in the starting hand marked as initial starting hand cards, or do you just have to go through and find them (or have them prepared and leave them in the box together)?


Your choice. You'll need the apprentice trade skills cards and the attempt transmutation action cards. Since you need to sort and lay out every card type in the game for setup anyway, there isn't a meaningful distinction in where you prefer to keep them.

B>
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.