Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

No Retreat! The North African Front» Forums » Rules

Subject: a few rules questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris McDonald
United States
Louisville
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
1) What exactly is a friendly road or track? This is a supply source according to 11.2, but doesn't seem to be defined anywhere. Are all road/track spaces between controlled towns and your map edge assumed to be friendly, unless there is an intervening enemy unit/ZOC/town? Or do friendly units have to to walk along every space of a road/track to make it friendly?

What about roads between a friendly town and an enemy town, or between a friendly town and the map edge?

2)Per 10.2, the initiative player can grab control of unoccupied enemy towns, and can chain from one such town to another. Does he actually have to place a unit in each town that is claimed, or is it an automatic process?

3) The scenarios don't explicitly define who controls which towns. e.g in Operation Sunflower, I'm guessing the Axis control El Agheila and Marble Arch, the British everything else, is that correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darrell Pavitt
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As long as a road leads to your edge and isn't blocked by the enemy, you can use it to trace supply. Enemy units block a road, as do their ZOCs unless you have a friendly unit in the hex.

Quote:
A friendly Town/City is one where a friendly unit was the last to enter or pass through it, or if it began that scenario as a friendly hex.
To indicate ownership, put a British roundel or German cross Control marker on a Town/City, found on the reverse sides of some of the Crete game round counters


So no, you don't need to set up in the deployment phase, just trace a supply line to them, avoiding the enemy. (only the side deploying second can do this).

The Germans cannot trace a supply line past the British 2nd Armoured, so they cannot claim any other town apart from the ones they start in. The British can trace a supply line to every other town, so they all start under British control.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Razler
msg tools
What about during Player turns?

Can you trace supply through towns that were abandoned by an opponent without having one of your units physically pass through it.

Put another way, do empty towns block supply until you move one of your units through it and make it "friendly"?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
razlerja wrote:
What about during Player turns?

Can you trace supply through towns that were abandoned by an opponent without having one of your units physically pass through it.

Put another way, do empty towns block supply until you move one of your units through it and make it "friendly"?


No you do not need to make it "Friendly". The desert was a huge and mostly empty place and supply lines were often very confused, with enemy convoys sometimes crossing each other's paths within hours! You need troops to block supply lines. "Boxes" and "Minefields" are good at doing this, too, if you can't spare the troops.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cfmcdonald wrote:
1) What exactly is a friendly road or track? This is a supply source according to 11.2, but doesn't seem to be defined anywhere. Are all road/track spaces between controlled towns and your map edge assumed to be friendly, unless there is an intervening enemy unit/ZOC/town? Or do friendly units have to to walk along every space of a road/track to make it friendly?


A friendly Road/Track is one where you don't have an enemy unit or Zone of Control. Check rule 11.1 tracing supply for what blocks a supply line.

What about roads between a friendly town and an enemy town, or between a friendly town and the map edge?

cfmcdonald wrote:

2)Per 10.2, the initiative player can grab control of unoccupied enemy towns, and can chain from one such town to another. Does he actually have to place a unit in each town that is claimed, or is it an automatic process?


It is automatic during the Deployment process, but not during the rest of the turn (you just need to be able to trace a supply line to them).

Rule 10.2 syays:

Capturing Towns and Cities during Deployment: The
Non-Initiative Player, who sets up first, cannot capture
(occupy and gain Control of) enemy Towns and Cities in
this manner during Deployment. However, the Initiative
Player, setting up second, can do so, if the Non-Initiative
Player leaves any such hex(es) vacant and if the Initiative
Player can trace a supply line to them
.


cfmcdonald wrote:

3) The scenarios don't explicitly define who controls which towns. e.g in Operation Sunflower, I'm guessing the Axis control El Agheila and Marble Arch, the British everything else, is that correct?


Yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim K
United States
Palatine
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Please confirm the Marble Arch is *not* a town or city. It is only there for historical reference. From the pictures I've seen it was just an arch in the middle of the Libyan desert. The answer impacts the requirements for seizing control of map 2.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darrell Pavitt
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Pretty sure it is just a landmark.



1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
htjester wrote:
Please confirm the Marble Arch is *not* a town or city. It is only there for historical reference. From the pictures I've seen it was just an arch in the middle of the Libyan desert. The answer impacts the requirements for seizing control of map 2.


This is correct, the Marble arch is just "Eye Candy". No impact on game-play 9i should have said so somewhere in the rules, doh). whistle

I wonder if it still stands today.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darrell Pavitt
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
The arch was demolished by dynamite in 1973 by the revolutionary leader Muammar Gaddafi, who considered the landmark as a sign of the Italian domination of Libya.

Another possible reason for this demolition is that the arch was a symbol of separation between two parts of Libya, Tripolitania and Cyrenaica.

The two bronze statues of the Philaeni brothers and parts of the marble reliefs are now located in a small museum in Medinat Sultan, around 50 kilometres (31 mi) from Sirte.
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.