Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
charles newberry
United States
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mb
hey guys

I'm new to this system and the ACW, so I want to make sure I do the fluke stoppage right.

When stoppage occurs Div must move to the rear where it cannot be fired upon by small arms.It must be a more secure location.

Do you use normal movement procedure?Do you have to get there in the first activity phase or can it take more than one?

It seems you could get cut to pieces having to make a facing changeand then only have five MP to get out of range.If there is no blocking terrain,exposing your rear in the open could be very bad with a pursuing attacker.

Also,if you voluntarily do fluke stoppage must it be during the command phase or can you do it during the activity phase?

If anyone can shed some light on fluke stoppage for me I greatly appreciate it.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Don Evans
United States
Chapel Hill
North Carolina
flag msg tools

When a formation fluke stops, its HQ -- whether that is a div leader or the corps HQ -- is placed anywhere you want out of the action, preferrably far enough away that you can reorganize the command without having to worry about being attacked. For example, we had a fluke stoppage for II Corps, which was attacking south of Gettysburg, and the corps HQ was placed near Barlow's Knoll. Took several GTs for all the units to get back into command range, which is one of the prerequisites for rolling to end the retreat.

Then, the units can change into column, which give units all-around facing, for 1 MP and move to rejoin the HQ. Remember, units that stay in column at the end of their move can go 8 MPs. You also have the option to take routed or DG units and move 10 hexes during that command's activation.

The column units can quickly rejoin their command, although in some situations, well-placed arty could give them some dings.