Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

A Week In Hell: The Battle of Hue» Forums » Rules

Subject: The impossible die roll. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gator Skin
United States
Evanston
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The 7, 8, and 9 spaces of the phase track each have a red number. When progressing to these spaces, the player is supposed to roll a die, and if the result is "lower than or equal to" the red number, the next turn is the night turn.

But the first red number you encounter is a 6. It's, uh, a six-sided die.

How is it possible to roll past this space?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich Dodgin
Scotland
Edinburgh
Midlothian
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

By rolling a 6 ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gator Skin
United States
Evanston
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
But a 6 is equal to a 6! This says, basically, you have to roll higher than a 6. I can only assume this is weird errata.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Siege_of_Barcelona_(1713–14)
badge
https://spanishpolice.github.io
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I guess it's meant to be "higher than or equal to".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randy Smith
United States
Kokomo
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Perhaps there is some modifier that you have overlooked, or perhaps the next game turn is intended to be the night turn no matter what. Or, maybe a misprint on the track.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gator Skin
United States
Evanston
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The only thing that makes sense to me is the following:

Phase track: 6 | 5 | 4 | Night

I'm going to play as if you have to roll a "6" on the 6 space to skip straight to night. On the "5" space, rolls of 5 or 6 will skip straight to night. On the "4" space, a roll of 4, 5, or 6 will skip straight to night. It seems logical.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Y
United States
Peoria
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
gatorskin wrote:
The only thing that makes sense to me is the following:

Phase track: 6 | 5 | 4 | Night

I'm going to play as if you have to roll a "6" on the 6 space to skip straight to night. On the "5" space, rolls of 5 or 6 will skip straight to night. On the "4" space, a roll of 4, 5, or 6 will skip straight to night. It seems logical.
I think this is correct.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.