Subject: New Player vs Dominion War OP2 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason Bowling
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mb
*EDIT*

I have now completed the event. Please check several posts down to see my result.

*EDIT*

Hey Everyone!

I'm new to Star Trek Attack Wing having only picked it up 2 weeks ago. I really like the game and currently play it with my girlfriend and local gaming group.

However I'm interested in participating in the OP events so I investigated my main venue (Firestorm Games in Cardiff), and they are running Dominion War OP2 this Tuesday.

Now this has got me excited because I like Klingons (I'm currently using the Vor'cha from the starter box and I picked up the Koraga last week), as I understand the prize for OP2 is a Klingon ship.

But the event needs a 100pt fleet so I need another ship. I've looked around and seen some ideas but I was hoping to get some up-to-date feedback on how I can deal with the current meta (Borg sound scary).

Any help would be appreciated.

P.S. Also any tips for the scenario itself.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Griffin
United States
Marietta
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
If it is the Ch'Tang (B'Rel class) it's quite an expensive ship on eBay.

Keep in mind I'm neither a great player or an experienced one. There are some good videos on YouTube. As I understand it, originally the meta was that the Klingon, fighting a 3 ship, pretty bare build were kind of unstoppable with all their dice and their 4 evade dice from cloak. Then the Feds got more ships and other ships were put out and the attack dice got big enough to get through the cloak to mitigate the Klingon advantage.

Then I think (before my time still) that Romulan Mines were kind of unstoppable, especially when one party had 3 or 4. This is still potentially a problem and romulan mines for attack or area denial are a very powerful tactic.