Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
15 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: Kits ability and bypassed ice? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Aaron Smith
United States
Kalamazoo
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So here's something I couldn't find an answer for. If Kit uses Femme to bypass the first piece of ice she encounters, is her ability used up by that?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rodrigo Oliveira
Brazil
Belo Horizonte
Minas Gerais
flag msg tools
Avatar
Yes. To use Femme you must encounter the ICE, and Kit's ability is triggered by the first ICE you encounter.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Wong
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
Yes, since both Kit's ability and Femme's ability activate after encountering ice, Kit's ability would go to waste.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Stewart
United States
Owego
NY
flag msg tools
designer
www.drunkassgames.com
badge
!!!NERD ALERT!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Disagree with both answers. If you bypass ICE, you do not encounter it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Smith
United States
Kalamazoo
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Glamdryn wrote:
Disagree with both answers. If you bypass ICE, you do not encounter it.


If you read the FAQ about bypassing ice, it says the ice *is* encountered but that conditional abilities triggered by "when encountered" do not resolve. So kits ability would be triggered, but would not resolve...so does that mean her ability can still be used since it didn't resolve? That's what I'm unsure about.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Wood
United States
Grapevine
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Glamdryn wrote:
Disagree with both answers. If you bypass ICE, you do not encounter it.


And since you encounter the ice to bypass it, kit's ability specifically says the First piece of ice you encounter. So even if you bypassed it, it's still the first piece of ice encountered, so even if her ability does not resolve on the bypassed ice that condition is no longer true.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Smith
United States
Kalamazoo
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh geez. Never mind. This very question is actually IN the FAQ. shake
A bypass DOES use up her ability. So pardon me for being "that guy".
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alejandro G.
United States
Hurst
Texas
flag msg tools
Sometimes you have to roll the hard six.
badge
I'm getting my men...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1011649/kits-ability-bypass

http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/991976/kit-inside-job

http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/946430/kit-and-inside-job
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lech Karol Pawłaszek
Poland
Szczecin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Glamdryn wrote:
Disagree with both answers. If you bypass ICE, you do not encounter it.


You're wrong.
You can bypass only encountered Ice. So you have to encounter Ice.

Inside Job:
"Make a run. Bypass the first piece of ice encountered during this run."

etc.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Campo
United Kingdom
Manchester
lancashire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
may i add on a question? you can still rez Caprise if the only ice is a by passed ice right?

say the ice is unrezzed and femmed, is there still a caprice pause or would the corp need to rez the ice and caprice at the same time, ?

similar with inside job runner starts in job can i rez caprise and no the ice?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ony Moose
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Milarky wrote:
may i add on a question? you can still rez Caprise if the only ice is a by passed ice right?

say the ice is unrezzed and femmed, is there still a caprice pause or would the corp need to rez the ice and caprice at the same time, ?

similar with inside job runner starts in job can i rez caprise and no the ice?

As long as you rez caprice at the same time you would have rezzed the ice, it's exactly the same as if the ice wasn't bypassed.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Smith
United States
Kalamazoo
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Damnit! I *did* a search of the forums! I swear I did! In my defense, it was a quick search while waiting for a game at my FLGS so it wasn't very in depth. I guess my search foo is just not very strong.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alejandro G.
United States
Hurst
Texas
flag msg tools
Sometimes you have to roll the hard six.
badge
I'm getting my men...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MinisterOfPropaganda wrote:
Damnit! I *did* a search of the forums! I swear I did! In my defense, it was a quick search while waiting for a game at my FLGS so it wasn't very in depth. I guess my search foo is just not very strong.


I used Google. "Kit Netrunner Bypass".
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Wray
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
xpiredsodapop wrote:
MinisterOfPropaganda wrote:
Damnit! I *did* a search of the forums! I swear I did! In my defense, it was a quick search while waiting for a game at my FLGS so it wasn't very in depth. I guess my search foo is just not very strong.


I used Google. "Kit Netrunner Bypass".


Note to self: Google > BGG Forum search
6 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evgeny Reznikov
Israel
Haifa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
The answer is actually on the cards:

Quote:
When you install Femme Fatale, choose an installed piece of ice. When you encounter that ice, you may spend 1 [Credits] per subroutine on that ice to bypass it.

No encounter = no Femme ability = no bypass.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.