Does Diaz get the ability of his partners, or are they just used for prestige? For example, if he has Banana Men, are all his troops firepower 3?
In the Pax Porfiriana living rules, I have added a sentence in the second bullet of the solitaire rules to clarify this:
• If it is a partner, Diaz plays it into his Row. Díaz can buy and play partner cards as a single Action, without paying any gold. If it has two Orientations (e.g. Newspapers), rollback the die for the Orientation. Diaz gains the abilities conferred by partners, such as generals giving extra firepower for his troops.