Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Cuba Libre» Forums » Rules

Subject: Running out of pieces rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andy Waller
France
Paris
flag msg tools
mb
On the solo game what happens when a NPC runs out of pieces but can place via an event?. Do they redeploy from some other part of the board? In which case, how do they prioritise which piece to take off?

My event says place a DR base but they're all out. Should DR redeploy?

While I'm here, General Strike event says open ANY closed casino. So not necessarily in the same city as the general strike?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gordon J
United States
Eagan
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Print and Play Gamer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
andyinkuwait wrote:
On the solo game what happens when a NPC runs out of pieces but can place via an event?. Do they redeploy from some other part of the board? In which case, how do they prioritise which piece to take off?

My event says place a DR base but they're all out. Should DR redeploy?

While I'm here, General Strike event says open ANY closed casino. So not necessarily in the same city as the general strike?


I don't think so. I believe in the solo rules it says the Non-player will only take the event if it has some effect. Thus in this case they don't have any bases left, therefore they would do an Operation + Special. But I'm not 100%
7 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Volko Ruhnke
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's right, Gordon, thanks for answering! (8.1 Ineffective Events; 8.1.1 GUIDELINES)

Re General Strike, yes, any Casino. (The attempted General Strike was nationwide but flopped particularly badly in one city and wherever that opened Casino is.)

Cheers, Volko
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oerjan Ariander
Sweden
HUDDINGE
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
andyinkuwait wrote:
On the solo game what happens when a NPC runs out of pieces but can place via an event?. Do they redeploy from some other part of the board?


No, only player factions may remove pieces to Available in order to place them somewhere else with an Event or a Rally/Train Op (1.4.1). Non-player factions may not do that; if they're out of Available pieces of the specified type then they can't place any more of that type.

Edited to add: They can still place pieces of other types though; so if for example the event says "place a Base and 2 Guerrillas" but the faction only has one single Guerrilla left, the event has at least some effect so the bot will play it to place that single Guerrilla.

Regards, Oerjan
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.