Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Axis & Allies Europe 1940» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about destroyer attacks lonley transport rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert Schelchshorn
Germany
Schlüsselfeld
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Hi folks,

the rules say:

>Air or sea units with an attack value ending their combat movement in >a sea zone containing >only enemy transports automatically destroy >those transports (unless they are ignoring them to
>support an amphibious assault instead). This counts as a sea combat >for those sea units.

Well, this point triggered a heavy debate last weekend.
An enemy destroyer ends its movement in a sea area containing one of my transports (only).
Normally (as the rules say), the transport is automatically destroyed BUT in this case, two of my fighters scrambled!
The other side argued that even there will be a sea combat, the transport is definitely destroyed because the rules say 'destroyed automatically'!
My argument was no because there will be a sea battle and only if the fighters are destroyed (and the destroyer survives), the transport will be destroyed ‘automatically’!
What do you think?
thx in advance,
Rob
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ingo B-D
Germany
Bielefeld
NRW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Rob,

1st: The defender may scramble at the end of the attackers combat movment phase (see page 15 Pacific, page 16 Europe). This is the last action in that phase.

2nd: Then starts the Conduct Combat phase. At this moment, the Transport isn´t alone.

3rd: If your opponent destroys your Fighters, you loose your Transport too, because it´s alone. In all other cases, your Transport is still alive (see page 19 Pcific, page 20 Europe).

Greetings
Ingo



6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Allen
United States
flag msg tools
Thanks for bringing this up. It's nice to have a heads up in case this happens in a game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dulgin wrote:
If your opponent destroys your Fighters, you loose your Transport too, because it´s alone.

... but only if the destroyer survives to sink it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.