Recommend
15 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

A World at War» Forums » Sessions

Subject: Six Newbies at War – Part 7 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: AWAW [+] AWorldatWar [+] [View All]
Gary Goh
Singapore
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
Budding wargamer
badge
My role model for his brains, calm demeanour and appetite for snacks!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
After completing my solo introductory session of the Global War campaign, I came to know four fellow gamers who were interested in playing out this monster with me and my brother-in-law.

This report is part of a longer series of session reports about what transpires during the game. While I write these reports from Japan’s perspective, I try not to give too much away since this game is still in progress and my opponents are regular BGG members who read these forums often.

Players:

Jamie – Russia/Communist China
Boon – Britain
Ian & Jasmine – US/France/Nationalist China

Nigel – European Axis
Gary – Japan


Links:

Part 1: Six Newbies at War – Part 1
Part 2: Six Newbies at War – Part 2
Part 3: Six Newbies at War – Part 3
Part 4: Six Newbies at War – Part 4
Part 5: Six Newbies at War – Part 5
Part 6: Six Newbies at War – Part 6
Part 8: Six Newbies at War – Part 8
Part 9: Six Newbies at War – Part 9
Part 10: Six Newbies at War – Part 10
Part 11: Six Newbies at War – Part 11
Part 12: Six Newbies at War – Part 12
Part 13: Six Newbies at War – Part 13
Part 14: Six Newbies at War – Part 14
Part 15: Six Newbies at War – Part 15
Part 16: Six Newbies at War – Part 16
Part 17: Six Newbies at War – Part 17
Part 18: Six Newbies at War – Part 18
Part 19: Six Newbies at War – Part 19
Part 20: Six Newbies at War – Part 20
Part 21: Six Newbies at War – Part 21 (end)

==================================================================================


This session was held on a different day from our usual timing, so only Nigel and Boon could make it for the session.


Spring 1941 (Allies):


EUROPEAN THEATER


The Western Allied and Russian foreign ministers are eerily quiet on the diplomatic front. Meanwhile, the Russians complete the second half of their peacetime M4, and mobilize four 3x3 infantry units with 10 BRPs from the mobilization plus two excess BRPs carried over from the second half of their peacetime M3:

RULE CALLOUT:
36.351 DEFERRING FORCE POOL ADDITIONS: Mobilizations may not be postponed or declined, but Japan, Russia and the U.S. may defer up to five BRPs of force pool additions from mobilization. Deferred force pool additions from mobilization may be triggered on any of the four turns following the deferment. Force pool additions which are not triggered within this time are lost. The delay for deferred force pool additions is determined from the turn in which the force pool addition is announced. Force pool additions generated partly from mobilization and partly from production are subject to the delay associated with mobilization.


While continental European remains silent, Britain places an airbase in Egypt and TRs one NAS to the airbase from Alexandria. He also redeploys two NAS from Scapa Flow to the airbase, as follows:

1 He uses one Western Allied transport to NR the two NAS from Scapa Flow to Gibraltar, touching on Plymouth during the journey to comply with the naval activity range requirement:

RULE CALLOUT:
Naval activity range restrictions:
21.361 RANGE RESTRICTIONS: The range of naval activities is restricted as follows (EXCEPTION: Range restrictions do not apply to countries in theaters in which they are not at war)…

21.3612 SEA SUPPLY, NRs, SEA ESCORT: There is no range limit for sea supply (30.33), NRs and sea escort (28.5), although such activities must touch a port (21.36C) at least once every 20 (Europe) or 10 (Pacific) hexes…


Sea escort requirements and capabilities:
21.6 SEA ESCORT:

21.64 DESTROYER AND TRANSPORT REQUIREMENTS:
A. One destroyer factor is required to sea escort each ground or air factor.

C. One transport is required to sea escort every five ground or air factors (round up) (20.64C).

G. Transports may be used to sea escort between the following locations provided they were controlled by the escorting player at the start of its player turn:

- Western Allied sea escorts between ports on the Western front (Atlantic transports).



2 Boon then uses a DD based in Gibraltar to continue the sea escort mission to Alexandria, touching on Malta again to comply with the naval activity range requirement:

RULE CALLOUT:
21.64 DESTROYER AND TRANSPORT REQUIREMENTS:

I. Sea escorts using transports may be continued using destroyers based in the port where the portion of the sea escort using transports ends. Similarly, sea escorts using destroyers may be continued using transports if transports are available to sea escort from the port where the portion of the sea escort using destroyers ends.
Example: The Western Allies may sea escort a ground unit from the Atlantic U.S. box to the India box in a single redeployment, using Atlantic transports for the leg from the U.S. box to Gibraltar, DDs based in Gibraltar for the leg from Gibraltar to Suez, and Indian Ocean transports for the leg from Suez to the India box.



3 The NAS “disembark” at Alexandria, and TR westwards to the newly-placed airbase.


While Boon’s intention in redeploying the NAS south from Scapa Flow is to intercept sea supply at Tobruk during the turn that the Italians DOW the Allies, we realize during the next turn that the airbase has been placed one hex too far from the port and is therefore unable to intercept Axis sea supply to Africa after Italy DOWs the Allies in Summer 1941.

With a total of ten functioning Western Allied transports in the Atlantic SW box, Boon is able to sea escort four oil counters from the U.S. Atlantic box to London with the use of four transports. To avoid drawing down from the Western Allied (Europe) oil reserve which is currently full with six oil counters, Boon opts to take the construction oil effect which limits him to 25 BRPs of British/Commonwealth builds at normal cost. He builds out three transports, and one 4o5 Canadian armour unit which is NRed to the British homeland. The BB4 Prince of Wales is also launched from the British shipyard at Glasgow.

The US uses its sole shipbuilding point to advance construction of the BB4 Indiana.


PACIFIC THEATER


Nationalist China forces attrit my Japanese forces, and I take two 1x2 infantry counters as losses this time. My ability to attrit away an average of three to four Nationalist China units per turn seems to be paying off in the form of lower Japanese attrition losses. Nationalist China spends six BRPs this turn to construct one 2x2 infantry unit, and two 1x2 infantry and replacement units each. These units are placed in the gaps in which Chinese losses were taken from my last attrition attacks during the Axis Spring 1941 turn.

Communist China attrits my forces as well, though I do not take any losses this time.

The US advances construction of the BB4 South Dakota, while the British build out a AAF and four infantry factors in Australia.



Summer 1941 (Axis):


Research rolls are generally good all round, except for Japan where I roll a “2” for one of my research projects


EUROPEAN THEATER


Nigel gains control of the Greek hexes and the minor country’s (pro-rated) BRPs during the diplomatic phase. Buffered by the continual success of the Germans, Italy finally enters the war and DOWs the Western Allies. The Italian airbase at Syracuse is recycled to Tobruk, followed by the staging of three Italian AAFs forward to the port from Bengazi. One of the Italian AAF counterairs the three British NAS at the airbase near Alexandria, and takes two NAS down together with it after two rounds of air combat. With one remaining NAS, the British lack sufficient air factors to provide defensive air support to any of its ground units in range.

Nigel sends his first TF at Genoa to patrol within three hexes of Tobruk – this distance enables him to automatically counter-intercept the British TF (that is stationed at Alexandria) if Boon decides to intercept any naval activity which ends at Tobruk. Nigel then uses his second TF to sea transport two 4o6 armour units from Germany across the Mediterranean. As expected, Boon attempts to intercept with his TF, though he does not make the interception roll:

RULE CALLOUT:
22.2 RESOLVING NAVAL INTERCEPTIONS:
22.21 DICE ROLLS USED: Naval interceptions are resolved by rolling one or more dice for each intercepting naval force, calculating the total, and comparing that total to the distance to the interception hex to determine whether the intercepting naval force arrives in time for the first round of naval combat or later joins the naval battle in a subsequent round (22.23).



The German 4o6 armour units disembark and drive toward the south-most British 2o5 armour unit. One 3x3 and one 1x3 Italian infantry unit advance next to the British 2o5 and attack the latter, together with one German 4o6 and Italian 2o5 armour unit. With ground support from the two remaining AAF at Tobruk, this results in an attack at 3:1 odds which the Axis win comfortably with no losses. A breakthrough hex is created in the new vacant hex, allowing the remaining 2o5 Italian and 4o6 German armour units to exploit forward via the hexes next to the Qattara Depression towards the direction of Cairo. With the exploiting Axis units being in full supply, their ZOC effectively isolates the neighbouring British 2o5 armour and 3x4 mechanized infantry units, the South African 3x4 mechanized infantry and 1x3 infantry units since these units will be unable to draw supply from the South Africa box during the upcoming Allied turn:

RULE CALLOUT:
30.321 LAND SUPPLY LINES: A land supply line consists of a line of controlled land hexes, free of enemy ZoCs, from a supply source to a unit or hex. The supply source or the unit or hex being supplied may be in an enemy ZoC, provided all hexes in the supply line itself are free of enemy ZoCs (EXCEPTION: Supply may not be traced from a bridgehead, even while it is a supply source, if it is in an enemy ZoC).

In the west, the two Italian 2x3 infantry units march towards Tunis.

On the strategic warfare front, the four U-boats in the Atlantic SW box sink nine Western Allied transports and damage another three, leaving four functioning transports for the Allied Summer 1941 turn. Nigel also uses a fifth U-boat which is stationed at Kiel to carry out the harbour attack which he started out the game with as the Germans, and takes out two CAs at Scapa Flow:

RULE CALLOUT:
21.444 INITIAL GERMAN HARBOR ATTACK: Germany begins the game with the ability to make a harbor attack against one enemy target. This attack may be made in Fall 1939 or any subsequent turn, provided no other harbor attacks have been made. The execution of this attack does not modify subsequent harbor attacks.
*Author’s note: The harbour attack with the U-boat ought to have been conducted immediately after naval patrols are completed. However, the attack is described here since submarines are being touched on at this point.


The Axis shipyards get busy, as the Germans build out a CA and U-boat while the Italians advance construction of the BB4s Impero and Roma. Italy also builds out the AAF which was lost earlier during the turn.

The U-boat is NRed into the Atlantic SW box to bring the total count there to five, in preparation for SW warfare in the fall. Nine German AAF are TRed and SRed to Rome, and further TRed to Messina where a German airbase is placed earlier this turn.

Overall, the situation is beginning to look bad for the European Axis. With RGT hitting 49, the Germans lose their economic interest of 10 BRPs (pro-rated to 7) in Russia. The U.S. will also mobilize for the third time in the European theater, as USAT reaches 30.


Russo-German tension (RGT) = 49
US-Axis tension (USAT) = 32 (actual of 33, with -1 modifier)



PACIFIC THEATER


As USJT hits 20, I trigger Japan’s M3 which allows me to mobilize an additional 20 BRP worth of units. I go all-out on infantry and mobilize four 3x2 and 1x2 units each, along with two 2x2 infantry units. These will be added to my force pool in Winter 1941.

My attrition die rolls in mainland China are worse than desired, as I only succeed in taking out a total of three Nationalist Chinese counters through attrition. During the unit construction phase, I build three more Japanese elite NAS and the two 1x2 infantry units which were taken as attrition losses during Spring. For naval builds, I construct three more DDs that will be ready in Fall 1941, advance construction of the BB5 Satsuma and launch the CV Zuikaku.

During the redeployment phase, I utilize a Japanese transport to NR a 2o3 armor unit from Manchuria to Haiphong, and TR it to join up with the other 2o3 armor unit that is already in Northern French Indochina. A second transport is used to NR the 3o3 armour unit from Hainan to Saigon, as I set the stage for the opening assault on South-east Asia:

RULE CALLOUT:
76.4 JAPANESE OCCUPATION OF FRENCH INDOCHINA:
76.41 NO DECLARATION OF WAR REQUIRED: Once France is conquered by the Axis, Japan may occupy some or all of French Indochina without a declaration of war simply by announcing its intention to do so and then by moving, sea transporting, air transporting, airdropping or NRing ground units into Hanoi or Saigon. Unless Chinese units may move outside China, Japanese units may redeploy next to Chinese units in China.

76.43 OCCUPATION OF ALL OF FRENCH INDOCHINA: The Japanese occupation of all of French Indochina is a two-stage process:
A. In the first turn of the occupation, one Japanese ground unit may enter Saigon. Japan then receives the prorated BRPs for French Indochina at the start of its next player turn. The USJT level increases by one in the turn in which Japanese ground units enter Saigon and by one in each subsequent turn. Japanese units may not enter any of the remaining hexes of French Indochina in the turn Japan enters Saigon (EXCEPTION: Northern French Indochina - 76.42).
B. At the start of the Japanese player turn following its occupation of Saigon, all the remaining hexes in French Indochina not already under Japanese control come under Japanese control.



Three AAF TR and SR from Mukden to Taipei (both objective cities), touching on Kagoshima along the way:

RULE CALLOUT:
28.62B. PATH AND DISTANCE: Units which SR trace a path, subject to the normal restrictions on redeployments (28.2), from one objective or mapboard box to another, regardless of the distance involved. Air units which SR must have a chain of air bases between objectives (28.341).


US-Japanese tension (USJT) = 23 (actual of 23, with no modifier)


Ending state of events:


European theater (continental Europe, Western Front)



European theater (continental Europe, Eastern Front)



European theater (Mediterranean and North Africa - West)



European theater (Mediterranean and North Africa - East)
(note that the British and South African ground units next to the Italian forces have been isolated -- the ZOC from the Italian 2o5 to their right prevents land supply from reaching these units during the Summer 1941 Allied turn, so they will be eliminated by the end of that turn)



Pacific theater (mainland China)


==================================================================================

Links:

Part 1: Six Newbies at War – Part 1
Part 2: Six Newbies at War – Part 2
Part 3: Six Newbies at War – Part 3
Part 4: Six Newbies at War – Part 4
Part 5: Six Newbies at War – Part 5
Part 6: Six Newbies at War – Part 6
Part 8: Six Newbies at War – Part 8
Part 9: Six Newbies at War – Part 9
Part 10: Six Newbies at War – Part 10
Part 11: Six Newbies at War – Part 11
Part 12: Six Newbies at War – Part 12
Part 13: Six Newbies at War – Part 13
Part 14: Six Newbies at War – Part 14
Part 15: Six Newbies at War – Part 15
Part 16: Six Newbies at War – Part 16
Part 17: Six Newbies at War – Part 17
Part 18: Six Newbies at War – Part 18
Part 19: Six Newbies at War – Part 19
Part 20: Six Newbies at War – Part 20
Part 21: Six Newbies at War – Part 21 (end)
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Krug
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Note that if the second 2o5 had been placed one hex to the south, then the Axis armor would have been in its ZoC and could have moved only one or two hexes.

This would have made it easier to counterattack, as the 4o6 would be next to four infantry factors and thus subject to at least a desperate 1:2 attack, if air factors are not included in the calculation (I can't see all of the counters in the picture as some are stacked).

It is important, most especially on the Eastern front, to try to keep your defending armor and infantry spaced such that the enemy can't easily punch a hole in your lines and exploit. The simplest arrangement is to keep armor units two hexes apart (so that ZoCs exist between them) and stack a 2 or 3 unit infantry with each armor so that 5 or 6 factors must be destroyed to punch a hole in the lines.

Russia usually has just enough armor to do this - unless their lines are stretched out. But this requires the Axis to concentrate their armor, which then lets the Russians concentrate theirs, and back and forth. It's a deadly dance of tanks that requires some skill to understand and master.

Placing airbases to provide DAS is also very useful but tricky - they need to be at least five spaces away from an enemy airbase to avoid counterairs, but within four spaces of your armor to defend it.

Combined arms warfare requires more than just rolling well on your CTL research.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Krug
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
By the way, the loss of surprise for the Germans in Russia is a huge problem precisely because the Russian armor now has full use of their ZoCs and they can be placed where they are the most useful.

A surprised Russian army is much, much easier to take down because the ZoCs are limited in scope and the Russians can't move around as much.

They also have fully capable DAS which can be deployed out of range of the Germans. This combination of fully capable air and fully capable armor makes it very tough to "blitzkreig" them in the same way as the historical Barbarossa.

Here are some of the relevant rules:

Russian Garrison Requirements

At the end of any Russian player turn in which RGT are 20 or greater:

Ten Russian 2-3 infantry units, four Russian 3-3 infantry units and six Russian 3-5 armor units must end their turn within four hexes of an Axis-controlled east Prussian, Baltic or Polish hex, or an Axis-controlled or neutral Rumanian hex.

15 Russian AAF must end their turn within three hexes of an Axis-controlled east Prussian, Baltic or Polish hex.

Russian Unpreparedness

If the RGT level is less than 40 at the moment Germany declares war on Russia, the following apply in the first turn of a German invasion, in addition to all normal modifiers and movement impairments:

During the Axis movement phase:

Russian armor units adjacent to Axis-controlled hexes at the start of the Axis player turn have no ZoC.

Russian armor units which are not adjacent to Axis-controlled hexes cause Axis ground units to expend only one additional movement factor to leave a hex in their ZoC or to move from one such hex to another, rather than the normal two additional movement factors. During exploitation movement, the ZoC of Russian armor units impairs Axis movement normally.

During the Axis movement phase and regular combat, Russian infantry units in eastern Poland, the Baltic States and Russia that are overrun or attacked by at least one Axis armor unit are subject to a -1 DM unless defending in an objective hex or IC. Other DMs apply normally to such attacks. This -1 DM does not apply to Russian units in the Finnish border hexes, Bessarabia or conquered Balkan countries and does not apply during exploitation movement and combat.

During the Axis player turn, Russian air units have their Air Nationality DRM reduced by one.

During the Russian player turn following the Axis attack, Russian armor units have a movement factor of two and Russian infantry units have a movement factor of one. Russian specialized units and Russian units in the Pacific theater move normally.

The above impairments also apply to Russian associated and minor ally units outside their home country.

The combination of these rules makes the Russians sitting ducks if they are surprised. Without surprise, they are much tougher.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Goh
Singapore
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
Budding wargamer
badge
My role model for his brains, calm demeanour and appetite for snacks!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Added link to part 8
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Goh
Singapore
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
Budding wargamer
badge
My role model for his brains, calm demeanour and appetite for snacks!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Added link to part 9
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Goh
Singapore
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
Budding wargamer
badge
My role model for his brains, calm demeanour and appetite for snacks!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Added link to part 10
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Goh
Singapore
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
Budding wargamer
badge
My role model for his brains, calm demeanour and appetite for snacks!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Added links to parts 11, 12 and 13
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Goh
Singapore
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
Budding wargamer
badge
My role model for his brains, calm demeanour and appetite for snacks!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Added link to part 14
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Goh
Singapore
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
Budding wargamer
badge
My role model for his brains, calm demeanour and appetite for snacks!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Added link to part 15
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.