New to Cosmic Encounter (Amazing game!), and I have a quick question about the Hate wild flare power that tripped up a game.
Wild: As a main player, before encounter cards are selected, you may force your opponent to discard one card at random from his or her hand. If he or she has no encounter cards left after doing so, you win the encounter.
I was attacking a player with one card left on my first encounter. I used this and won automatically. On my second encounter, the Dictator had me attack the same player again and I wanted to use this card again.
The defending player wasn't required to play any encounter cards up to this point, so he hadn't drawn new cards. Because of this, we weren't sure if using the Hate card would grant another automatic win, wouldn't work because he technically had no cards to take, weren't looking at the rules correctly about drawing new cards, or something else.
Any help is appreciated, thanks!