Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
96 Posts
1 , 2 , 3 , 4  Next »   | 

Android: Netrunner» Forums » General

Subject: New FAQ! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Derrick Billings
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_news.asp?eidn=4931



Moffat Rule: the way to win an argument on the internet is when your view becomes canon.

http://boardgamegeek.com/article/16035716#16035716
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Captain Frisk
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
MIND|GAMES
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
119 NAPD Contract
• If the Runner accesses NAPD Contract from R&D and does
not pay the additional cost to steal it, the NAPD Contract is
not revealed.


Interesting!
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Wood
United States
Grapevine
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This also is a reversal I believe of previous ruling

Quote:
Installing Multiple Cards
Whenever multiple cards are installed by the same effect, those
cards are installed one at a time.
Example
: The Runner uses
Mass Install
to install three programs,
including
Scheherazade
. The Runner can install the Scheherazade
first, and then host the other two programs on it
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derrick Billings
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Captain_Frisk wrote:
Quote:
119 NAPD Contract
• If the Runner accesses NAPD Contract from R&D and does
not pay the additional cost to steal it, the NAPD Contract is
not revealed.


Interesting!


I've had that happen many times. *Expose the top card* "Yours, Mine, or trash?"

"Mi--" *looks at $2 on his ID* "...yours."

Gosh, what could it be?

But, a canny player with a better poker face could just leave it be, especially if it's not the top card of R&D, get more money, and go back later.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derrick Billings
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Taloncarde wrote:
This also is a reversal I believe of previous ruling

Quote:
Installing Multiple Cards
Whenever multiple cards are installed by the same effect, those cards are installed one at a time.
Example: The Runner uses Mass Install to install three programs, including Scheherazade. The Runner can install the Scheherazade first, and then host the other two programs on it


Likewise, if you were ever inclined to MI three Overminds, they would land with 3, 2, and 1 power counters, respectively.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ony Moose
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
E3 being errated to remove additional makes a lot of sense, since now preventing damage from The Cleaners etc is clear you get the additional damage regardless of prevention, while Tyr's hand will prevent E3 since there is no longer the word additional!

New rule!
Destruction of Ice
If a piece of ice is destroyed during an approach or encounter
with that piece of ice, then the ice is immediately passed and the
run continues

Means if you trash the last piece of ice on approach, the corp has no window to rez Caprice.

Also, reversal of previous ruling for Snitch
"If the expose effect is prevented, the Runner can still jack out. "
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew
Japan
Tokyo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kandiru wrote:
E3 being errated to remove additional makes a lot of sense, since now preventing damage from The Cleaners etc is clear you get the additional damage regardless of prevention, while Tyr's hand will prevent E3 since there is no longer the word additional!


Could you explain this? It's a bit esoteric for me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
FirstName LastName
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
fateswanderer wrote:
Kandiru wrote:
E3 being errated to remove additional makes a lot of sense, since now preventing damage from The Cleaners etc is clear you get the additional damage regardless of prevention, while Tyr's hand will prevent E3 since there is no longer the word additional!


Could you explain this? It's a bit esoteric for me.


e3 is meant to trigger itself (you can repeatedly break more subs with it)
The Cleaners is not meant to trigger itself (you don't do infinite meat damage).

But they used the exact same language before this errata.
8 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derrick Billings
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
fateswanderer wrote:
Kandiru wrote:
E3 being errated to remove additional makes a lot of sense, since now preventing damage from The Cleaners etc is clear you get the additional damage regardless of prevention, while Tyr's hand will prevent E3 since there is no longer the word additional!


Could you explain this? It's a bit esoteric for me.


Prevent/Avoid Effects
Prevent/Avoid effects take priority over conditional abilities that would trigger from whatever is being prevented or avoided, except when a conditional ability uses the word “additional.” An“additional” conditional ability occurs simultaneously with the trigger condition and can be prevented/avoided along with the trigger condition.


In so many words, this means The Cleaners makes Scorch deal 5 Meat Damage. (Not "1 extra if any of the first four manage to land.") If the word "additional" were not removed from E3, then you could still E3 subroutines even if Tyr's Hand canceled your basic break.

Basically, this clause was needed to fix The Cleaners, but would have made the E3/TH interaction even more confusing, so they errata'd E3 to exclude it.
2 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ony Moose
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also....WTF??

Quote:
The Runner uses Femme Fatale to bypass a Komainu for 0 credits.
If there is a Chum installed before the Komainu, are the 0 subroutines
on Komainu broken, or does the Runner take the 3 net damage?

The subroutines are not broken because the ice was bypassed,
and the Runner takes 3 net damage.


It clearly says all includes 0 further up. I can't wrap my head around this ruling.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Captain Frisk
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
MIND|GAMES
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kandiru wrote:
Also....WTF??

Quote:
The Runner uses Femme Fatale to bypass a Komainu for 0 credits.
If there is a Chum installed before the Komainu, are the 0 subroutines
on Komainu broken, or does the Runner take the 3 net damage?

The subroutines are not broken because the ice was bypassed,
and the Runner takes 3 net damage.


It clearly says all includes 0 further up. I can't wrap my head around this ruling.


I think the way to look at it is that in a bypass - you skip breaking all together.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derrick Billings
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Kandiru wrote:
Also....WTF??

Quote:
The Runner uses Femme Fatale to bypass a Komainu for 0 credits.
If there is a Chum installed before the Komainu, are the 0 subroutines
on Komainu broken, or does the Runner take the 3 net damage?

The subroutines are not broken because the ice was bypassed,
and the Runner takes 3 net damage.


It clearly says all includes 0 further up. I can't wrap my head around this ruling.


Go further up.

“Bypass”
When an effect allows the Runner to “bypass” a piece of ice,
he immediately passes that ice and continues the run. All
subroutines (including 0) on the ice bypassed are not broken.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shane Baumgartner
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Quote:
Installed
Events, operations, and identity cards are never installed.



Quote:
33 Trick of Light
• Trick of Light can only be used to move advancement tokens
from an installed card to another installed card.



That means you can't ToL advancement tokens off an ID (which Tennin can do with their ability).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Ely
United States
pocatello
Idaho
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I like the NAPD ruling. Exact thing g came up in a tournament I played.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Wood
United States
Grapevine
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kandiru wrote:
Also....WTF??

Quote:
The Runner uses Femme Fatale to bypass a Komainu for 0 credits.
If there is a Chum installed before the Komainu, are the 0 subroutines
on Komainu broken, or does the Runner take the 3 net damage?

The subroutines are not broken because the ice was bypassed,
and the Runner takes 3 net damage.


It clearly says all includes 0 further up. I can't wrap my head around this ruling.


But did you break the 0 subroutines? No, you bypassed them. All includes 0, and you did not break all 0 subroutines.

Question now becomes, what if you have 0 cards in hand, giving Komainu 0 subroutines, and you still don't break them, since you can't break 0, do you still take the net damage from Chum? (I don't me by bypassing, just in normal encounter with the ice in question)

(this any/all junk keeps causing far too much confusion for what it's worth)

Not saying I'm agreeing with how this works, but I can see it from a logical standpoint.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shane Baumgartner
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Quote:
54 Same Old Thing
• The Runner cannot use Same Old Thing to play priority
events.


I don't know what that means. What's a priority event?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grish Noren
msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Since you don't enter the breaking step, it's impossible to break a subroutine. Look at chum's FAQ ruling and you'll see the conditions for it firing make more sense with the new rulings.

All still includes 0; but you haven't broken all/any of the routines if you skipped the breaking routines step.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derrick Billings
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Shatner83 wrote:
Quote:
54 Same Old Thing
• The Runner cannot use Same Old Thing to play priority
events.


I don't know what that means. What's a priority event?


An event that says "Priority".

Early Bird, Cyber Threat, etc.

You can't spend your first click on the event because you already spent it on SOT.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Wood
United States
Grapevine
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Shatner83 wrote:
Quote:
54 Same Old Thing
• The Runner cannot use Same Old Thing to play priority
events.


I don't know what that means. What's a priority event?


It's a subtype of Event, for example Early Bird in Honor and Profit, as well as a few coming up in the Lunar cycle
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ony Moose
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Grimwalker wrote:
Kandiru wrote:
Also....WTF??

Quote:
The Runner uses Femme Fatale to bypass a Komainu for 0 credits.
If there is a Chum installed before the Komainu, are the 0 subroutines
on Komainu broken, or does the Runner take the 3 net damage?

The subroutines are not broken because the ice was bypassed,
and the Runner takes 3 net damage.


It clearly says all includes 0 further up. I can't wrap my head around this ruling.


Go further up.

“Bypass”
When an effect allows the Runner to “bypass” a piece of ice,
he immediately passes that ice and continues the run. All
subroutines (including 0) on the ice bypassed are not broken.


So 0 subroutines are broken, 0 subroutines are unbroken, and 0 subroutines exist. I don't see why they've made this strange rule for bypass. Woodcutter+chum doesn't deal damage, unless you bypass the woodcutter with a femme?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacek Wieszaczewski
Poland
Wrocław
Poland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Shatner83 wrote:
Quote:
54 Same Old Thing
• The Runner cannot use Same Old Thing to play priority
events.


I don't know what that means. What's a priority event?
It's a keyword. Priority events are events that can be played only as your first click. There's one in Honor and Profit (Early Bird), two in Upstalk (Cyber Threat and Paper Tripping), more of them will come later (I think they're one of Lunar Cycle themes).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Duke Of Lizards
United States
Worcester
Vermont
flag msg tools
Livin's mostly wasting time, and I waste my share of mine
badge
I am a breathing time machine
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Shatner83 wrote:
Quote:
54 Same Old Thing
• The Runner cannot use Same Old Thing to play priority
events.


I don't know what that means. What's a priority event?


It's a subtype of events that specifies they may only be played on one's first click.

edit: ninja
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Harris Enniss
United States
Goleta
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I refuse to play against anyone who regards the entry regarding Femme, Komainu, and Chum as valid. If this means I don't play Netrunner at all, then so be it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Dawkins
United States
Fountain
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Captain_Frisk wrote:
Quote:
119 NAPD Contract
• If the Runner accesses NAPD Contract from R&D and does
not pay the additional cost to steal it, the NAPD Contract is
not revealed.


Interesting!


Indeed, this is a reversal of the original ruling that stemmed from the Red Herrings ruling discussed here.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ony Moose
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
henniss wrote:
I refuse to play against anyone who regards the entry regarding Femme, Komainu, and Chum as valid. If this means I don't play Netrunner at all, then so be it.

Well, they've added a special rule for it under Bypass now. So it is valid, just rather strange.

It's not like the situation before were Chum+woodcutter didn't do damage, but Woodcutter+oversightAI wasn't trashed. This new rule specifically applies to bypassing ice with 0 subs for Chum's benefit.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2 , 3 , 4  Next »   | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.