Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
22 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » News

Subject: FAQ v 1.5 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrew Keddie
Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/ffg_content/android-netrun...

It's out!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Keddie
Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Reversed the rulings on Mass Install and bypassing ICE with 0 subroutines - nice!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean Trundle
msg tools
mb
Looks like a reversal on showing NAPD to the corp when you access it from r&d, also.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grish Noren
msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Using Icebreakers
The Runner can boost the strength of his icebreakers outside of
an encounter with a piece of ice. However, unless the icebreaker
says otherwise, its strength is immediately reset to its previous
value

Null actions also apparently aren't completely invalid. Toolbooth tricks remain.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
heyyouyeahyou 12
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The Runner uses Femme Fatale to bypass a Komainu for 0
credits. If there is a Chum installed before the Komainu, are
the 0 subroutines on Komainu broken, or does the Runner take
the 3 net damage?


The subroutines are not broken because the ice was bypassed,
and the Runner takes 3 net damage.


Well, now we have to play it this way. Rulings man, always changing. lol
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Keddie
Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
gumOnShoe wrote:
Using Icebreakers
The Runner can boost the strength of his icebreakers outside of
an encounter with a piece of ice. However, unless the icebreaker
says otherwise, its strength is immediately reset to its previous
value

Null actions also apparently aren't completely invalid. Toolbooth tricks remain.


Although you cannot break a subroutine if there are no valid subroutines to break. So if Mimic is your only way to spend during a run, tough luck; you're paying the 'booth.

omegalife2002 wrote:
The Runner uses Femme Fatale to bypass a Komainu for 0
credits. If there is a Chum installed before the Komainu, are
the 0 subroutines on Komainu broken, or does the Runner take
the 3 net damage?


The subroutines are not broken because the ice was bypassed,
and the Runner takes 3 net damage.


Well, now we have to play it this way. Rulings man, always changing. lol


Yeah, but I think most agree that this is a better ruling
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grish Noren
msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
CommissarFeesh wrote:
gumOnShoe wrote:
Using Icebreakers
The Runner can boost the strength of his icebreakers outside of
an encounter with a piece of ice. However, unless the icebreaker
says otherwise, its strength is immediately reset to its previous
value

Null actions also apparently aren't completely invalid. Toolbooth tricks remain.


Although you cannot break a subroutine if there are no valid subroutines to break. So if Mimic is your only way to spend during a run, tough luck; you're paying the 'booth.


True story.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derrick Billings
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
CommissarFeesh wrote:
gumOnShoe wrote:
Using Icebreakers
The Runner can boost the strength of his icebreakers outside of
an encounter with a piece of ice. However, unless the icebreaker
says otherwise, its strength is immediately reset to its previous
value

Null actions also apparently aren't completely invalid. Toolbooth tricks remain.


Although you cannot break a subroutine if there are no valid subroutines to break. So if Mimic is your only way to spend during a run, tough luck; you're paying the 'booth.

omegalife2002 wrote:
The Runner uses Femme Fatale to bypass a Komainu for 0
credits. If there is a Chum installed before the Komainu, are
the 0 subroutines on Komainu broken, or does the Runner take
the 3 net damage?


The subroutines are not broken because the ice was bypassed,
and the Runner takes 3 net damage.


Well, now we have to play it this way. Rulings man, always changing. lol


Yeah, but I think most agree that this is a better ruling


Not if Henniss has anything to say about it. Just goes to show, the correct way to win an argument on the internet is to cogently explain your view to those in authority and have your view become canon ;-)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ony Moose
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also reversed Snitch/Prevent expose ruling. You can now jackout.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Micheal Keane
United States
Washington
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Pictured: Rags Raggerson, successful businesscat
Avatar
mb
Kandiru wrote:
Also reversed Snitch/Prevent expose ruling. You can now jackout.


Are you sure it's a reversal of a previous ruling? I thought you always got the chance to jackout.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Forster
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Glad to see that Tennin Institute can no longer Trick of Light advancement counters off of its identity.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Keddie
Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
forster925 wrote:
Glad to see that Tennin Institute can no longer Trick of Light advancement counters off of its identity.


They never could - you can place them there, but it's never been a valid ToL battery.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Meng
msg tools
ffaristocrat wrote:
Kandiru wrote:
Also reversed Snitch/Prevent expose ruling. You can now jackout.


Are you sure it's a reversal of a previous ruling? I thought you always got the chance to jackout.


It is a reversal. It was originally ruled that jacking out was dependent upon actually exposing the ice, so if the exposure was prevented, the jack out was not allowed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anton R.
Russia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
Does Joshua B. With Aesop work the same way as Security Testing?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Troy Jennings
Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
gozik wrote:
Does Joshua B. With Aesop work the same way as Security Testing?


No, because the 'Take a Tag at the end of turn' effect is put into play when you use JB. Essentially, at the start of your turn you can gain a click, but as part of gaining the click, you agree to take a tag at the end of your turn.

Sec Testing doesn't work after being Aesop'd because once Sec Testing is no longer on the table, it's unable to trigger the 'First time you make a successful Run' effect.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anton R.
Russia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
For me it's the same. You choose server at start of turn and as part of this choosing you should get 2 credits from the run. It's same delayed condition, can not see difference here.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Keddie
Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
gozik wrote:
For me it's the same. You choose server at start of turn and as part of this choosing you should get 2 credits from the run. It's same delayed condition, can not see difference here.


I assumed the same but I understand the difference. Joshua B. has a single conditional effect (at the start of turn do a), if you do, b) also happens.)

Security Testing has two conditionals; at start of turn, do a). The first time b) happens this turn, c) happens.

Security Testing is awaiting another condition to occur for the second effect (a successful run on the chosen server); Joshua B.'s condition was met when you took the extra click.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Lieffring
United States
Athens
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
CommissarFeesh wrote:

Yeah, but I think most agree that this is a better ruling


They've changed a general rule to come in conflict with a card's rules, and decided that the general rule wins out. That's kind of a huge mess.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Wray
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I mentioned this in the other thread, but did anyone else notice the interesting point that the new Currents won't be considered 'installed' when played (since they are Operations or Events)? I haven't considered all the implications of that, but I'm sure it was intentional.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Keddie
Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
IncompleteUserNa wrote:
CommissarFeesh wrote:

Yeah, but I think most agree that this is a better ruling


They've changed a general rule to come in conflict with a card's rules, and decided that the general rule wins out. That's kind of a huge mess.


In EVERY OTHER CASE bypassing after Chum will hit you with damage. They've chosen to make this consistent across all ICE now (including those with 0 subs). I for one have no problem with this.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Keddie
Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
cynchwyrm wrote:
I mentioned this in the other thread, but did anyone else notice the interesting point that the new Currents won't be considered 'installed' when played (since they are Operations or Events)? I haven't considered all the implications of that, but I'm sure it was intentional.


Not valid ToL targets even though Tennin Institute can legally place tokens on them (presumably). ToL only works with installed cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Wray
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
CommissarFeesh wrote:
cynchwyrm wrote:
I mentioned this in the other thread, but did anyone else notice the interesting point that the new Currents won't be considered 'installed' when played (since they are Operations or Events)? I haven't considered all the implications of that, but I'm sure it was intentional.


Not valid ToL targets even though Tennin Institute can legally place tokens on them (presumably). ToL only works with installed cards.


That's one for sure, but also anything else that targets installed cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.