Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Gallagher
Canada
Peterborough
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I ended up in a situation today playing Union against Reich on the castle map.
Turn 1 I was able to deploy a commando with the fire grenade and lace the blue path with fire. This meant absolute doom for my opponent who was forced to deploy and move his units on to the board turn 1 through a minimum of two spaces that all inflicted 3 automatic attack successes.

The throw a grenade action (turn 1) cost him 4 damage and both of his command points (or else it would have been 6 due to his rolls)

This seemed wildly broken to me and we started discussing first turn immunity.

Thoughts?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Brown
United States
Pine Grove
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I am extremely new to this game and have only played twice but could the other player have just not brought his units onto the map until the fire dissipated?mi only have the base game which I do not believe comes with fire grenades so I am unsure about how they work. I look forward to an official answer as well.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Gallagher
Canada
Peterborough
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The fire grenades work the same way smoke grenades work except the paths fill with fire instead of smoke. Characters caught in the fire or moving on to effected spaces have to shock roll their way through 3 automatic attack successes.

I don't believe you can choose to not deploy at all. Pretty sure that is a forced mechanic.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles Silbernagel
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Yes on the castle map fire grenades can be fatal due to the distance between the doors. In the Daedalus map expansion there are tokens for alternative entrances and examples of where to put them. It's not a solution but it helps.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Leigh
United Kingdom
Richmond