Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Mage Knight Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Reducing move costs and minimum values rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Roar Johansen
msg tools
Let's say that a player has both Song of Wind and Frost Bridge. Both cards' powerful effects allow for movement on lakes as follows:

Frost Bridge
Move 4. You are able to travel through lakes, and the Move cost of lakes and swamps is reduced to 1 this turn.

Song of Wind
Move 2. The Move cost of plains, deserts and wastelands is reduced by 2, to a minimum of 0. You may pay a blue mana to be able to travel through lakes for Move cost 0 this turn.

So let's say that the player first plays Song of Wind to be able to travel through lakes. Now he can do so with a move cost of 0. But what happens if he then plays Frost Bridge; reducing the move cost of lakes to 1? Will the new cost be "bumped" to 1 or will it stay on 0 since going from 0 to 1 isn't any reduction?

Any insights to this conundrum?


- mindflayah
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Wilson
United Kingdom
Plymouth
flag msg tools
badge
There Can Be Only One! The Wrong One!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As Song of Wind (powered with Blue mana) allows you to travel through lakes for 0 cost, any additional benefit gained by playing Frost Bridge would be lost. Frost Bridge just provides the 4 move with no further reduction for travelling over the lake.

Trevor
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roar Johansen
msg tools
But there isn't any real benefit in playing Frost Bridge in this regard. What I'm concerned about is whether the cost would be higher after playing Frost Bridge?!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Magnesi
Australia
Melbourne
Victoria
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
See the rulebook, page 6, movement, section 7a.

If you play more than one movement cost reduction, you apply them in the order you want. So you can decide if the cost of the lakes is 0 or 1.
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roar Johansen
msg tools
Excellent, thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.