Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Next War: Korea» Forums » Rules

Subject: Advanced Air Rules Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Buhl
United States
Leeds
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the example for Wild Weasel attacks (23.3, page 30) in the ADF conducted by SAMs this is stated:

"the fire against the F-4E WW results in a “+1.” Since Defense Suppression aircraft ignore all “+#” results, this, too, has no effect."

In the ADF conducted by AAA, this is stated: "The fire against F-16DJ WW #1 results in a “+1” DRM to his ensuing Wild Weasel attack."

The latter seems contrary to 24.8. Is that just a mistake in the example, or have I missed a rule about AAA fire specifically that the "+#" effect stands?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mitchell Land
United States
Ballwin
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
fatgreta wrote:
In the example for Wild Weasel attacks (23.3, page 30) in the ADF conducted by SAMs this is stated:

"the fire against the F-4E WW results in a “+1.” Since Defense Suppression aircraft ignore all “+#” results, this, too, has no effect."

In the ADF conducted by AAA, this is stated: "The fire against F-16DJ WW #1 results in a “+1” DRM to his ensuing Wild Weasel attack."

The latter seems contrary to 24.8. Is that just a mistake in the example, or have I missed a rule about AAA fire specifically that the "+#" effect stands?


When you organize a mission, you can have a maximum of two Strike air units and two Escort/Defense Suppression. In the example, there are two F-16 Strike Wild Weasels, one Escort F-15, and one F-4 Defense Suppression Wild Weasel. Because the F-4 WW is only along to suppress the defenses and isn't actually conducting a Strike against the enemy ADF Track, SAM and AAA against it are ignored except for "A" and "X" results.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Buhl
United States
Leeds
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yup, I missed a rule. That comes as no surprise. Thanks for the fast reply.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.