Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
1 Posts

Tournay» Forums » Rules

Subject: Why Bridge-Port-Road Work Differently from Farmhouse-Tollbooth rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In another thread, kgercken and I tried to understand the general principles of copying building effects in Tournay. Here are the issues.

There are two sets of buildings whose effects depend on which buildings are in which districts:

1. Bridge-Port-Road: these cards let you copy the effects of buildings in in another player’s district.

2. Farmhouse-Tollbooth: these cards give you deniers based on how many spaces are empty or occupied (respectively) in your district.

The question regards the districts of interest when the effects of one of these buildings is copied (by Bridge, Road, or Port). This raises questions such as the following:

1. If player A copies the effect of player B's Bridge, can he copy the effect of any building outside of his own (player A's) district - or any building outside player B's district?

2. If player A copies the effect of player B's Farmhouse, is he rewarded based on empty spaces in his own (player A's) district - or on empty spaces in player B's district?

The answers to these questions do not appear to be consistent.:

1. The designers have made clear that the answer to #1 is the latter: player A can copy the effect of player B's Bridge and use it to copy the effect of any building outside player B's district.

2. The designers have stated that the answer to #2 is the former: when player A copies the effect of player B's Farmhouse, the reward is based on the empty spaces in player A's district.

I believe that this apparent inconsistency results from a mistranslation in the English rules.

The French rules for Bridge do not refer to the district of the building being copied:
Quote:
Copiez l’effet d’un bâtiment libre d’un autre joueur.

(The rules for Port and Road are similar. In the English rules, this was "Copy the effect of an available building (of any color) in another player’s district.")

The French rules are saying, "copy the effect of an available building of another player." We are to interpret "another player" to mean "a player other than the one in whose district the Bridge is located."

The French rules for Farmhouse do refer to the district of the building being copied:
Quote:
Gagnez 1 denier par emplacement vide de votre quartier.

(The rules for Tollhouse are similar.)

The French rules are saying (as do the English rules), "gain 1 denier for every empty space in your district." Here, we are are to interpret "your district" to mean "the district of the currently active player."

I'm not sure how satisfying this will be, but we see at least that the original French rules used different language for the two cases that are resolved differently.
4 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.