Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Breaking the Chains: War in the South China Sea» Forums » Rules

Subject: Couple of basic questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert Leonhard
United States
West Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Can aircraft conduct a U attack against submarines at range? I assume surface ships cannot.

2. Can surface ships bombard and hit aircraft on a base?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Hoyt

Butte
Montana
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Robert Leonhard wrote:
1. Can aircraft conduct a U attack against submarines at range? I assume surface ships cannot.

2. Can surface ships bombard and hit aircraft on a base?

Thanks.


My understanding is, yes aircraft can attack subs (U) at range, the air counter representing several types of aircraft, inlcuding ASW helicopters and planes. Surface ships cannot, range is same hex only for those (U) type attacks.

And yes, I believe surface ships can bombard (gun attack G right) aircraft in the target hex, also with range being same hex.

Note that you cannot make T G or U attacks against vessels in port, though they are still vulnerable to missile (AS) attacks and LACM.

You may get a better response asking on CSW though, John is quite active in the BTC folder there
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Leonhard
United States
West Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the response. The reason I ask about aircraft attacking subs is that in the rules on GQ cycles, it says to conduct U attacks against subs IN THE SAME HEX, whereas it specifically says to conduct AS attacks against surface ships AT RANGE. This is confusing language, because many multirole aircraft in the game have U attack strengths. I'd like to hear from the designer a definitive answer as to whether aircraft can attack subs AT RANGE. Maybe I'm reading too much into the rules, and we are supposed to assume that the aircraft are temporarily in the target hex.

But what would happen if the sub were NOT in the focus hex, but was within normal range of the aircraft in another hex? Could the attacker hit the sub?

I'm skeptical about the G attacks on aircraft at bases, too, because the player aid card doesn't seem to allow it. Hmmm....
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Gorkowski
msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
I don't have the rules handy right now, but from memory here are the answers.

1. YES aircraft can conduct U attacks against submarines AT RANGE, but that target must be in the focus hex, or have inserted itself into an engagement as a supporting unit. The usual rules for engagements apply to subs too. Surface ships must be collocated with a sub to attack it. In other words, a surface ships U score has a range of 0. Each aircraft counter represents dozens of aircraft with only the majority type displayed, hence the numerous U scores. The idea here is that the aircraft would fly from their distant base - possibly with fighter escort - to the area containing the submarine and then commence operations against it.

2. No G strikes against aircraft. As I recall, the strike chart specifically enumerates which targets can be hit by which type of strike and air are not eligible targets for a G strike. Basically, the rules assume that guns won't catch planes on the ground.

Thanks
John
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Leonhard
United States
West Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
This is very helpful. Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.