Subject: X wing or WH:I? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Taylor Kowbel
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all,

I recently recieved a gift card to a FLGS from a friends for a decent amount of money. I wasnt to get into a new game that i can go and buy new stuff for every month or so, bu not blind buy. I was looking at either Warhammer Invasion or Star wars X wing, and was looking for recommendations.

I see a plus to warhammer being I like the theme, though i am not very experienced in deckbuilding. I am also cocerned that the first cycle requires multiple purchases because of the distribution of "rares".

On the other hand, X wing seems very interesting too, but I find it hard to believe a single pre-painted mini with a few chits costs so much (although I have a heroscape background so maybe I'm spoilt).

Anyways, Any thoughts, suggestions, anything you might have would be greatly appreciated.

Happy gaming

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Carter
United States
Marion
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
X-Wing is very affordable compared to other miniatures games. The release cycle isn't as fast as an LCG, so it won't give you the monthly purchase feeling as much.

I usually buy two core sets when trying a new LCG. That's usually your best bang for your buck. Two core sets don't cost much more than a lot of recent board games. You'll also want two core sets for X-Wing as well.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul DeStefano
United States
Long Island
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
It's a Zendrum. www.zendrum.com
mbmbmbmbmb
X-Wing.

(And it's the licensing fees that cost so much).

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Carter
United States
Marion
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Geosphere wrote:
X-Wing.

(And it's the licensing fees that cost so much).

Even with the licensing fees it's very competitive with other miniatures games.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools