Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Last Night on Earth: Timber Peak» Forums » Rules

Subject: Spawning/Placing in Fires? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Biodiesel
United States
Manassas
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry for the cross-post, but I'm guessing very few people read the "Hold the Line" web-scenario forum.

Do newly placed heroes/zombies roll for damage if they're being placed in a space with a fire?

Situation:
A fire was blazing in the center square, and we had a hero death, which meant the new hero was forced to spawn in the center (that's the scenario rule - no choice). Do we roll for fire damage?

Per rulebook, you roll for fire damage whenever one of these things happens:
-a fire starts in a model's space
-a model enters a space with a fire
-a model ends its move in a space with a fire

We debated this and decided that #2 applied, but agreed in the future we should house rule that since heroes have no choice, they shouldn't have to roll for fire in this situation.

Logic:
-we said if fire was on a spawning pit, we would want zombies to roll for fire damage when spawned or placed there (e.g. via a card), so same rule should apply to heroes.

-escape in the truck scenario allows cheesy hero spawn for insta-win (which we also now house rule against)

Based on that, it seemed most fair for this play to roll for the damage.

I suggest FAQ/errata to clear this up. Perhaps give heroes option to spawn In a random building for the "Hold the Line" scenario, but not in the hero start area.

In other scenarios, if Zombie or Hero player has choice of where to spawn, and choose the fire space, then I think he should roll for damage.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David "Davy" Ashleydale
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree with your assessment, but I would actually rather the rule be that you can't spawn Heroes on the center square if there is something there -- fire, zombie, truck, etc. If you are forced to spawn there, you have to go one square out. If none of those are available, two squares out, etc.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.